Daily Archives: December 27, 2018

Kinda Happy, Kinda Sad

When I bought Hal, I had originally intended to sell The Dog Mobile to my Mom and Dad.  But Mom wasn’t comfortable with The Dog Mobile . . . she thought it was too big for her to handle . . . when in reality it was smaller than the car she was driving . . . so Little Brother found a smaller, slightly newer car for Mom and Dad that had a recent engine overhaul . . .

The Dog Mobile was the “family loaner” for a while until it found a home with Niece #2.  She was a busy girl . . . college student, held down two part time jobs, taught Sunday School, cheerleader coach . . . and The Dog Mobile was perfect for her busy life . . . and they were happy together . . .

Fast forward a few years and Niece #2 graduated from college, got her Masters Degree in teaching, got through her first couple of years teaching and decided that it might be time for a New Car . . . and The Dog Mobile was getting up there in years and starting to need more and more repairs . . .

So Niece #2 got A New Car and decided to sell The Dog Mobile . . . and I have been holding my breath ever since waiting to see who the new owners would be.  When it didn’t sell, I seriously thought about buying it back myself and keeping it as a “spare” in case I ever needed it . . . but mainly for sentimental reasons.  But it needed some work that would be pricey if I had the work done by a garage . . . and since I know NOTHING about cars and can’t do the work myself . . . I talked myself out of that idea . . .

Fast forward to today . . . and Big Sister (Mom of Niece #2) shared the happy/sad news that The Dog Mobile has been sold . . . to a guy that is a mechanic and is looking for a “good car” for his young driver that will be getting a driver’s license soon.  And suddenly I realized that my silent prayers had been answered.  The Dog Mobile is going to a new home that will love and care for her as much as I did . . . and as much as Niece #2 did.

And that makes me very happy . . .

 

Leave a comment

Filed under family, PostADay, Stuff