Daily Archives: September 27, 2018

Random Dog Thoughts . . .

Taking Millie to the vet should qualify as a cardio workout. She’s curious about everything, can’t sit still for anything, has to visit everyone she sees, tries to get behind the desk to help the girls check her out, and has to sniff every blade of grass between the front door and the car . . . after she’s smelled them all on the way in . . .

 Millie is fine . . . she has seasonal allergies and they are flaring up on her . . . a shot, some treats, and a prescription for allergy meds and she’s as good as new . . . she also gained about four pounds since her wellness check in January . . .

 That being said . . . and I pray that this is a llooonnggg time away but Rocky and Millie are getting up there in years so it’s something that’s crossed my mind a time or two . . . I pray that Rocky passes before Millie. I had to leave Rocky at home when I took Millie to the vet and, by the look on his face, his whole world ended when I walked out the door with her and had to leave him behind . . . and I couldn’t get the door opened fast enough when we got back home so he could see that I kept my promise and brought Millie back home and she was fine . . . while Millie was more interested in the treat that I left for Rocky that he didn’t eat while we were gone . . . I can only imagine what he must have thought . . . and he’s been very close to her all evening . . .

Rocky grieved terribly after Prince Charming’s death . . . the day of the accident, Rocky sat at the front door waiting for Daddy to come home . . . he sat at the top of the stairs all night so that he wouldn’t miss hearing Daddy’s key in the lock . . . the next morning, he ran down the stairs and sniffed Daddy’s chair and looked at me as if to say “Where is he?”  Rocky spent the next month or so sleeping at the top of the stairs every night waiting for Daddy to come home . . . from time to time I’ll catch Rocky looking out the front door and give a little sigh as if to ask “Why isn’t he coming home?” and it breaks my heart . . . I don’t think I could bear it to watch him do that if Millie passes first. 

 Millie, on the other hand, charges through life at full speed and seems totally oblivious to any of us . . . except for when it’s time for treats or a meal . . . she’s a diva and has to be the center of attention so I don’t know that she would care if Rocky and/or I were even here . . . she doesn’t know a stranger and she thinks everyone is here to spoil her with love, hugs, and treats . . . she doesn’t even give me a backward glance when I drop her off at the kennel . . . and she’s always happy to push past anyone in her way to get back home . . .

 I’m always amazed that two dogs with two totally different personalities are so devoted to each other . . . and I’m so happy I get to be their mommy.   

 

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 legged kids, coping, family, furbabies, millie, PostADay, Prince Charming, rocky