Well Duh

Last weekend was very cold here in Ohio.  I was in the basement doing laundry and putting away groceries and was amazed at how cold it was in the basement.  Has it always been this cold in the basement?  I don’t remember it being this cold in the basement before.

I have an old outdoor thermometer that I put on Prince Charming’s work bench to find out how cold it is.  The temperature in the basement was about 10 degrees cooler than the rest of the house.  I made sure the door to the basement was open so that some of the heat from the rest of the house could filter to the basement and made a note to myself to keep an eye on the temperature . . . which I completely forgot to do since it got warm again

It might be important to note . . . the basement is not finished.  The floor is concrete and so are the walls.  It’s mainly used for storage, the washer and dryer are down there, the shower, and Prince Charming’s ham radio equipment.  I don’t spend a lot of time in the basement so the temperature in the basement has never concerned me.  Although Prince Charming always bundled up more than normal when he worked in the basement during the winter.

We’re expecting an ice storm here over the weekend.  Like all good Ohioans, I stopped at the store for the necessary items I would need if I were stuck at home for a couple of days in an ice storm . . . dog food (canned and dry), green beans for Millie (yes, I still feed them to her because she still thinks I’m starving her), milk, bread, cheese (because tomorrow is my normal grocery day and I really do need these things).  I was putting the groceries away and some of the things are stored in the basement.  That’s when I figured out why it was so cold in the basement last week.

I should probably tell you that the register for furnace/AC is by the shower.  Which is heavenly because the warm air shoots out at you when you get out of the shower.  It’s not so heavenly in the summer when the cold air of the AC blasts at you when you get out of the shower.  When I was putting away the groceries, the furnace was on . . . and I walked in front of the register and realized that it’s still shut from the summer . . . to keep the cold air from blasting on me when I get out of the shower.

Well, duh . . . if you open the register, the basement might not be 10 degrees colder than the rest of the house . . . .

Yes.  I’m a natural blonde.

Leave a comment

Filed under PostADay, Stuff

Leave a Reply

