Fall Back

I love fall.  I love the cooler temperatures.  I love watching the leaves change color.  I love Halloween.  I love Thanksgiving.

I don’t like the time change.  I don’t like that it’s dark when I go to work and when I get off work at night (okay, not now that I work at a school but every other job I ever had it was dark when I went home).  I don’t like that the dogs can’t comprehend the concept and their schedules (and mine) are off until they adjust.

The part about it getting dark earlier is what makes being alone so hard.  During the spring and the summer, I’m outside doing things a lot later and I don’t notice it as much.  During the fall and the winter, I’m inside earlier and it seems like the evenings drag on forever.  Yes, I have more time to work on my stitching or catching up on my reading or the TV shows I like . . . but it’s times like that when Prince Charming’s absence is (for lack of a better word) painful . . . We snuggled on the couch and watched TV.  He asked me questions about the cross stitch project I was working on.  We cooked dinner together and did the dishes together . . . now all stuff I do by myself now . . .

How many days until spring?

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under coping, grief, PostADay, Prince Charming

2 responses to “Fall Back

  1. Pam I can certainly see that the time change does really make a difference when you are alone and it is dark so early. When we lived in KS and I worked, I too hated to come home in the dark. We have even switched going to Mass on Sunday mornings instead of Saturday or Sunday at 5 – cause of the darkness when we drive home. BUT every day is one day closer to spring and MARCH, when the time changes again – I think I heard March 9. Hang in there girl; you can do it.

  2. bigdogmompam

    Daylight Savings Time starts on March 12, 2017. 126 days. I can do this!

Leave a Reply

