Taking Chances

 

Sometimes my brain works in mysterious ways . . .

I’ve had this song stuck in my head for a couple of days. I couldn’t remember much about it except it was on one of the Glee soundtracks that I have (okay, yea, judge me). It took me a couple of days to find it. Yea, I know . . . I’m a little OCD sometimes.

Anyway . . . I don’t remember if this song came out about the time that Prince Charming and I started the long distance romance thing or not but I remember that this song summed up our beginning pretty well. I didn’t know much about him or his life and he didn’t know anything about my past (we had been apart for over 30 years at this point). When he first came back into my life, I was ending a 26 year marriage and I had no idea what I was going to do with my future. I was thrilled to have him in my life as a friend . . . but he wanted more. I wanted more, too, but I was scared. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to start a romance with anyone . . . much less someone who was 500 miles away. But one day he said something that closely resembled the line “But, what do you say to taking chances? What do you say to jumping off the edge? Never knowing if there’s solid ground below, or a hand to hold, or hell to pay. What do you say?”

 

How could I resist logic like that? Especially when he sang to me? Dang if he didn’t know that his singing could always melt away any doubts I had about anything.

 

So I agreed to take a chance . . . and even if it didn’t turn out the way either of us had hoped or planned . . . I am thankful for every moment we had.

1 Comment

Filed under PostADay, Prince Charming, Stuff

One response to “Taking Chances

  1. Dori from AZ

    Oh, Pam – your post just melts my heart – damn I wish I had known Ron – what a guy and what memories you are having – I’m betting he put THIS song in your head!

Leave a Reply

