What’s That Clicking Noise?

Living alone and having with a hearing impairment can be a little scary at times. I have hearing aids but I don’t generally wear them when I’m home at night. I figure that as long as the dogs are around, they will let me know if someone is at the front door or if something interesting is going on outside.

For the last day or so I’ve heard a noise every time I walked into the spare bedroom. It’s a metallic sound – not really a click and not quite a clank and not really loud – and it always seems to stop whenever I stop to try and figure out what the heck I’m hearing.

Is it the furnace? It is the wind making the windows rattle? Is the halogen light in the room going to blow up? Is Millie’s crate falling apart? Is the antique bed that belonged to Prince Charming’s Grandmother falling apart? Did I drop something behind the bookcase?

Since I can’t figure out what it is – and I can’t explain the noise well enough for someone else to come listen to it and figure it out – I decided to leave my hearing aids in and try to solve the mystery myself.

Remember that wonderful medal rack I bought for myself at the USAF Expo prior to the USAF 5k I did back in September? (Oh, yea, I bought a medal rack at the USAF Expo to display my medals! At the moment there are 14 medals on the rack.)

2015-12-09 22.18.43

Ain’t it purty?! (The rack, not the wall behind the rack!)

Turns out the noise is the medals on the rack clanging together when I walk through the room.

Okay, so I’m laughing that the fact that 1) I have enough medals to fill up a medal rack and 2) medals for races that I didn’t think I wanted to do are making that much noise and have been driving me crazy all week!

Life here is certainly never boring!!

1 Comment

Filed under Play, PostADay, Stuff

One response to “What’s That Clicking Noise?

Leave a Reply

