It’s The Little Things In Life

I went with my Mom today to donate some of Dad’s clothes to a local church. Mom had cleaned out Dad’s closet and discovered that he had a lot of very nice gently used clothes.  Some of the shirts had never been worn.  Mom wanted to donate the clothes but she wanted to donate them to someone that wouldn’t re-sell them.  She wanted them to be given away to anyone who would need them.  After my sister and I did some research, we discovered that one of the churches in the little area where we grew up has a weekly “clothes closet” and people who need clothes can come to the church and get what they need for free.  They were excited to get a donation of men’s clothes since they don’t get that type of donation very often.  I offered to help Mom with this particular task because Hal is bigger than her little car and I didn’t want her to be lugging a bunch of boxes and bags by herself.

I told you that story to tell you this story . . .

Some of you know that I have a little Blues Clues dog that travels in the car with me.  I got him many years ago from my big sister when she was having a yard sale.  Blue originally belonged to one of my nieces and they decided they didn’t want him anymore.  Being a true Blues Clues fan – and a believer of “rescuing” unwanted dogs – I decided that Blue had to come live with me and he’s been in my car ever since.  He was happy sitting on the console of the Dog Mobile and moved happily to Hal when we upgraded last summer.  Like Gnomie, it’s rare for Blue to sit in the same place for very long.  He likes to move around.

Since I had to move the seats to get all the boxes of clothes into Hal, I moved Blue to the front of the car so that he wouldn’t accidentally get donated.

It wasn’t until I left Mom’s after we made the donation and was driving back home that I noticed where Blue ended up . . .

He’s stuck between the arm rest and the front passenger seat.

I laughed at this every time I got into the car today . . .

Sometimes it’s the little things in life that put the biggest smile on your face.

2015-11-24 11.04.52.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under coping, furbabies, Play, PostADay, Stuff

2 responses to “It’s The Little Things In Life

  1. Dori from AZ

    I just love this post, Pam – it is so you !! I love the way you name your cars too – when we bought our last one, our then 8 year old granddaughter was with us – so we named her together “Ruby Mae Elizabeth Sierra, Rhys” (our middle names). We still have our red Honda Accord and Granddaughter, Chloe, is now 21 !! Time flies!

  2. bigdogmompam

    I’ve named every car I’ve ever owned. It makes it harder to be mad at them when they act stupid!!

Leave a Reply

