The Little House On Gable Street

Today’s “thankful” post on FB was about how much I love my house – The Little House On Gable Street.

2013-03-06 14.26.16

This is The Little House on Gable Street.  My home sweet home.  I’ve lived here for 25 years now.

2014-09-11 13.45.45

It has two bedrooms, a dining room, one bathroom, a basement that was built for a short person (it has low ceilings).  It was built in 1923 so it’s probably not up to the local building codes.  I joked with Prince Charming that nothing in the house is plumb or level.  It has a garage at the back of the lot – which is why Hal is parked in the driveway.

Sometimes it seems way too big (like right after the divorce and now that Prince Charming is gone).  Sometimes it seems way too small (like any time Rocky & Millie are romping through the house or when my family comes over for a family gathering).  Sometimes I think I’m in way over my head trying to maintain this place all by myself.  See, the deal always was that there would be “someone” to do the handyman stuff . . . I had no idea that that “someone” would end up being me.

It’s been my dream house since the minute I set foot in it all those years ago.  I love how the sunlight comes in the kitchen and the back bedroom in the morning.  I love the front porch – especially when I put up Christmas lights.  I really love the deck on the back of the house.  Since I’ve made some improvements to the back yard (i.e. tearing down the mud room, building the new deck, and taking down the crappy sheds and the lean-to that XH left for me to deal with), I enjoy spending time in the back yard.  Someday I’ll decide that I love the garage – when I finally get the nerve to sort through Prince Charming’s stuff.  That’s the big project for next year.

But mostly I’m proud of the fact that this is MY house.  My most prized possession.  The one thing that I can say I own all by myself.  XH was sure that I’d lose the house once we got divorced and it irks him to no end that I paid it off and it’s now 100% totally mine.

And I’m blessed that Rocky and Millie let me stay here with them.

1 Comment

Filed under PostADay, Stuff

One response to “The Little House On Gable Street

  1. Dori from AZ

    I love your home, Pam – it looks so homey and inviting. It reminds me a lot of the house I grew up in and it was of that same era. Hang on to it – it will only increase in value if and when you ever decided to move on.

Leave a Reply

