Old Marines Don’t Die . . .

they just fade away . . .

Or something like that . . . I heard my Dad say it at least a million times over my lifetime.

I guess it’s true . . . but then Dad was never one to tell a lie.

It is with incredible sadness that I share this news . . . just when I thought my Craptastic September couldn’t get any worse . . . my dad passed away Friday morning.

His battle with end stage renal failure is over.

His battle with arthritis, spinal stenosis, macular degeneration, profound hearing loss, complications from the frost bite he suffered during his time as a young Marine in Korea . . . all over.

He went peacefully . . . just like the nurses and doctors predicted . . . on his own terms, in his own way.

And now for the first time in 19 months, I can honestly say with total conviction that Dad’s in a better place.

And knowing my Dad . . . he’s probably at the corner bar with all of his old buddies who had gone to Heaven before him swapping old war stories.

2 Comments

Filed under PostADay

2 responses to “Old Marines Don’t Die . . .

  1. Dori from AZ

    Pam, please let me extend my sincere sympathy on the loss of your beloved dad – how I have enjoyed you sharing his picture of his young Marine days. It is just so sad to lose a parent – hang in there, girl, you’ve been down this darn road before.

  2. bigdogmompam

    Thank you, Dori. These last 10 days or so have been excruciating for us as a family. Yea, I’ve been down this road before . . . and this time, I’m helping my Mom down it too . . . strange how the most awful thing that ever happened to me would give me the strength and knowledge to help my mom as she finds her new “normal.”

Leave a Reply

