Finding My Way

Construction started on the changes to The Little House on August 3 as planned.

I’ll admit that I waffled more than just a little bit about whether I was making the right decision.  I worried that the vision I had in my head would not be what I ended up with.  I worried about what would I do with the dogs during the construction.  How would they react to strange men in their house?  How would they deal with the chaos of construction?  How would I deal with the chaos of construction?  I’ve never done anything like this by myself before . . . another “first” for me . . .

The mud room was demolished and work has started on the new covered deck.

The construction guys are wonderful young men that have a fabulous work ethic.  They understand that I’m new to the single girl homeowner thing.  They understand how important Rocky and Millie are to me and fuss over them as if they were their own pets.  They make sure the back gate is secured, they make sure there isn’t anything that will hurt the dogs.  They happily stop what they are doing to give them love and attention when the dogs go out to potty.  They even put up a temporary blockade at the edge of the deck so Millie wouldn’t be tempted to play “SuperDog” and jump (which didn’t work because she jumped anyway).

But most importantly, they understand how important it is to me to make the new addition match the older part of the deck.  Remodeling the old part of the deck was the last project that Prince Charming and I worked on together.

2015-08-05 11.29.14

This is Rocky sitting on the original back steps to The Little House.  As you can see, he’s a little confused about what happened to the big room that used to be there.

2015-08-05 11.29.31

This is the bigger picture . . . the old deck is to the right.

2015-08-06 19.41.38

This is what I came home to last night . . . and when I realized that yes the vision in my head was going to be exactly what I was going to have!!

2015-08-06 19.44.14

This is when I KNEW I had picked the perfect crew to do this job for me.  See those steps?  Those are the ones that Prince Charming worried himself silly about when he was remodeling the old deck.  He was so worried that he was going to get it wrong and was so proud of himself when they were a perfect fit.  I told Construction Guy Boss that we had to save those stairs and make them work for the new deck.  Once I explained why I had to have “those” stairs, he understood completely and assured me that he would make them work.  And bless his heart . . . he did just that . . . and didn’t laugh at me when I stood on those stairs with tears in my eyes last night.

2015-08-07 11.00.01

This is the what the project looked like when I went to work this afternoon.  I have railings!  I have balusters!  There’s lattice to keep Adventure Dog Millie from climbing under the deck to get into mischief!  Once again, Rocky is the Inspector General of the project.  If you look close by the tree to the left, you’ll see Millie.  She’s more interested in the construction materials and the job site trailer than in the actual work being done.

Yes I still have all kinds of anxiety about my future but I’m (finally) starting to learn to trust myself and my instincts.

Leave a comment

Filed under PostADay

Leave a Reply

