Little Voices

Prince Charming is buried next to his dad in a little cemetery not far from the little housing development where we grew up – and where his mom still lives and my family still lives. When his life was falling apart three years ago he told me “I just want to come home” and he was happy to be here. We had never talked about final arrangements so I had no idea what he would want. But I knew he would want to be “home” and close to his dad . . . And close enough for his mom visit him often and I can visit when I go visit my folks!

I told you that story to tell you this story . . .

Last weekend I had to go to the little butcher shop in my little hometown for some yummy lunch meat. This little butcher shop is near the cemetery where Prince Charming is buried. On my drive out there I heard a little voice telling me to go to the cemetery. “But I was just there!” I said. “I don’t want to be “that” lady that goes every week! The voice said “please just go.” Well since he said “please” how could I resist?

I pull into the cemetery and the groundskeepers are mixing concrete! Whoo hoo! A foundation for the headstone! It’s all I can do to not speed through the cemetery to get to Prince Charming’s grave. Imagine my surprise when I get there and see the foundation had been poured! The cement was still a little wet and I couldn’t resist putting my fingerprint in the cement (in a spot that won’t show when the headstone is placed)!

So how strange is it that I’m excited about this?

1 Comment

Filed under PostADay, Prince Charming, Stuff

One response to “Little Voices

  1. Dori

    Pam, that little story just touches my heart – of course, it was Ron telling you to go to the cemetery and it’s just too perfect that your fingerprint is there – thank you for posting about this magical moment. They just keep happening, don’t they?

Leave a Reply

