Progress

Seemed like everything was stuck in limbo for the longest time . . . and then everything started moving at once!

We finally got the final death certificate for Prince Charming . . . which means that all kinds of things can start to move . . . charges were filed against the driver that caused the accident.  No drugs, alcohol, or speeding involved in the accident.  The driver has been charged with vehicular homicide . . . which in the State of Ohio is a second degree misdemeanor.  He faces 6 months in jail, a $750 fine, and losing his drivers license for up to 5 years. 

Now that that we have the final death certificate and an “official” cause of death . . . the personal injury case can move forward a little . . . it’s still a “hurry up and wait” process, but at least we have finally made a step forward.

Most of the estate work is done . . . but there have been a couple of things in that process that I’ve had to deal with.  One is a medical bill from 2012 that supposedly has never been paid.  I’m waiting on paperwork on that.  One is a tax bill from the little city where we live . . . there is a dispute about Prince Charming’s 2012 city tax return that I thought he had taken care of but he apparently hadn’t.  I’m letting the lawyer handle that one. 

I ordered the headstone and it’s almost ready for installation . . . I’ve seen a picture of the headstone and, let me tell you, there is nothing creepier in the world than seeing your name on your very own headstone.  Not to mention the totally surreal feeling of seeing Prince Charming’s info on his side of the stone.  It’s a beautiful stone and I’m very happy with it . . . except for the fact that I can’t shake the feeling that some of the letters in Prince Charming’s name are just a touch “off” and look crooked to me.  I need to see it in person to make sure that it’s exactly perfect . . . I can’t be looking a crooked letters on his headstone for the rest of my life!    

Some days it seems like he’s been gone forever . . . and some days it seems like he’s only been gone a few days . . . and I still expect to see him walk through the front door or see his car in front of the house when I come home from work . . . but yet with each forward step I make it’s becoming more and more real to me . . . this isn’t a nightmare that I’m gonna wake up from . . . this is my new normal. 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under grief, PostADay, Prince Charming

Leave a Reply

