Saying Goodbye

20140616-224840-82120440.jpg

The sadness in my life continues.

My beloved Fluffy (Sir Fluff the Cat) passed away today.

Shortly after Prince Charming passed away, I started to notice some changes in Fluff’s appearance. He wasn’t grooming himself like he used to. He was always a picky eater, but his quirks about his food was getting worse. I took him to the vet expecting a simple diagnosis. Maybe a thyroid condition or maybe picking up on my mood since Prince Charming’s death.

I got a simple answer but not the answer I expected. What the vet told me shook me to my core. Fluff had FIV – feline immunodeficiency virus – kitty AIDS. This was just two months after Prince Charming’s death and I was not prepared at all for this.

My lovely vet knew about my recent loss and sympathized with the dilemma I now faced. I was told that I didn’t have to make a decision then – but I would soon. Unfortunately we had no way of knowing how long.

The end came gradually. Fluff kept his stubborn and determined personality to the end – he was attempting to chase birds this morning – but his body was giving out on him. As much as I didn’t want to face it – it was time to let him go. It seemed fitting that it rained the entire time I was at the vet and the sun came back out as I got back home.

I don’t think it’s hit me yet that he’s gone. I just checked the front porch to see if he wanted to come in when I locked the front door.

20140616-232411-84251516.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under 4 legged kids, family, grief, PostADay, Prince Charming

Leave a Reply

