Unexpected Kindness

I’ve been back to work for a week now.  I have all kinds of people checking up on me.  I have told my story about a zillion times.  I’ve cried way more than I want to . . . it’s exhausting . . . and I’m tired all the time

I’m always surprised at the completely unexpected kindness that is shown to me.  One of those completely unexpected kindnesses happened today.  I had an appointment for a haircut after work.  I’ve been going to the same lady every 6 weeks for the last 5 years or so.  She cut Prince Charming’s hair, too.  Right after the accident, I called her to tell her what happened because I didn’t want her to hear it and because I thought we would have an open casket and he would need to get a haircut before the service.  I wanted her to give him his last haircut.  What can I say, he mentioned that morning before he went to work that he needed to schedule a haircut.  Yea, my brain worked in strange ways. 

This wonderful woman treated me like nothing had happened.  I could tell she wanted to say something about how sorry she was for my loss, and how it sucked that he was taken so suddenly, and to ask all the questions that everyone has asked.  She chatted away about the new baby pigs that had been born last week and the new baby pigs that were expected sometime this weekend.  She told me about canning tomatoes and canning spaghetti sauce and how she was trying recipes for making homemade noodles.  It was wonderful beyond belief to not have to go through everything all over again. 

Then at the end of the appointment she gave me a jar of homemade apple butter.  She said she wanted to give me something sweet when life isn’t so sweet right now for me.  I thanked her and hugged her and told her how wonderful she was and how much I appreciated what she had done for me.  She gave me an hour of peace . . . and that’s a priceless gift. 

Leave a comment

Filed under PostADay

Leave a Reply

