Wedding Bells

No, this isn’t the announcement where I tell you that Prince Charming and I are getting married.

This is the announcement where I tell you that XH and GF are getting married.  In June.  And Prince Charming and I were invited to the wedding.

Now let me start off by saying that I’m very happy for XH and GF.  He seems happy in his new life and I’m glad he’s found someone to spend the rest of his life with.

I’m surprised that he’s getting married again, though.  I guess he’s forgotten the “I’ve spent 40 years of my life being married and neither marriage worked out well for me, so I’m not doing it a third time.”

I’m surprised that he invited me and Prince Charming to the wedding.  I think it was a pity invite – he only invited me because I was standing in front of him and he thought it was the “right” thing to do.  While I’m cordial with XH and GF, we aren’t best buddies by any stretch of the imagination.  Prince Charming has met XH and GF and he’s cordial with them, too, but he has issues with the way XH treated me during the marriage and how XH has treated me since the divorce.

So the $64000 question is . . . Are we going?  No . . . we aren’t.  It’s too creepy to think of myself sitting in the chapel watching my XH getting married to someone else.  I cry at weddings . . . all weddings . . . and I think me crying at the wedding would send a very bad message.  I also think it’s too creepy for me and Prince Charming to be at the reception.  I can imagine the whispers of “What’s she doing here and why did she bring him?”  I feel that our being there would take the attention away from the bride . . . and it’s really her day.

It’s just entirely too awkward all the way around and we aren’t going.

But that isn’t the reason I gave XH for us not being there.  I took the cowards way out and told XH that it just so happens that Prince Charming’s divorce hearing is that weekend . . . so it wasn’t a complete fib . . .

Leave a comment

Filed under ex-hubby, PostADay, Prince Charming

Leave a Reply

