An Ed Story

Yesterday was Prince Charming’s Dad’s funeral.  A very wonderful dignified service for a wonderful and dignified man.  Good old-fashioned “Homecoming” Celebration by a good-old fashioned preacher.  None of that new-age “Life Celebration” stuff for Ed . . . no, sir!

During the service, the preacher asked if anyone wanted to make some remarks about Ed . . . and Favorite Aunt got up and told a story about how her Big Brother Eddie ran off a guy that she had a crush on in high school because he thought that she had been out on a date just a little too long.  Considering how difficult it has been for Favorite Aunt to lose her Big Brother Eddie, I was proud of her for standing up and telling her story.

I wish I had that kind of courage because I had a story that I wanted to share.  But I knew I couldn’t stop crying long enough to get the words out.  So I’m telling that story here . . .

Prince Charming started dating when I was 12 and he was 13.  Our first date was a dance at the Local Junior High School.  Since we were so young, we had to depend on the parents for transportation.  Prince Charming’s Dad was more than happy to do that for us.

Now, let me tell you that I was TERRIFIED for Prince Charming’s Dad . . . because he looked like Abe Lincoln.  Tall, lanky, and even had the beard.  He was a kind man with a heart of gold and a mischievous streak a mile wide . . . and the temptation to pick on his oldest son and his new girlfriend on their first date was just too much to bear.

This was back in 1975 (yes, I just gave away my age!) and during the CB craze.  Prince Charming’s Dad had a CB . . . and a PA system attached to it.  I don’t remember WHY he had a PA system, but he did.  Anyway, there I am in the back seat of the Big Ford Station Wagon being driven to my first date EVER with a guy that I had a huge crush on.  We get to the dance and get out of the car start to go into the building.  All of our friends were arriving at the dance at the same time and there was a nice little crowd outside of the building.  Just as Prince Charming’s Dad was pulling away from the curb, he flipped the switch to the PA system and said . . . in his loud booming Abe Lincoln voice . . . “Ya’ll have a nice time now.”

I turned beet red.  Prince Charming turned beet red.  We wanted to crawl under the sidewalk and never be seen from again.

I think we could hear Prince Charming’s Dad laughing as he drove away.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Parents, PostADay, Prince Charming

Leave a Reply

