Vacation

The other day Prince Charming and I were talking about vacation plans for 2012.

He asked a very simple question, “Where do you want to go?  What do you want to do?”

(inset crickets chirping here)

He sat there with a smile on his face waiting for an answer.  And I had no answer to give him.  See, I’ve never been asked that question before.  I’ve never had anybody care about what I wanted to do or where I wanted to go.

For the last 15 – 20 years, my vacations have consisted of XH’s bowling tournaments, visiting the step-daughter and her kids, or taking time off for MIL’s health concerns (hospitalizations, surgeries, tests, procedures).

There was the trip to Niagara Falls for our 10th wedding anniversary and the trip to Gatlinburg during one of the years that step-daughter was mad at XH.  Two trips in a 26 year marriage that were my idea.  Yes, I know how lopsided it seems.  Which was part of the problem in my marriage.  But I digress!

So there I am looking at Prince Charming’s beautiful smile and wondering how to answer him.

So I tell him some big dreams I have for vacations in the future.  I tell him some small simple ideas I have for trips close to home since there are serious budget concerns.  I tell him that I have no idea how to answer his question because I’ve seriously never given it any thought.  I tell him that it doesn’t matter where we go or what we do as long as we are doing it together.  He tells me that someday we will be able to do all the things on my list.  He laughs and tells me that he knows that all of this is a new concept for me.

Seriously, though, when your wildest dream has become your new reality, every day is a vacation day.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Play, PostADay, Prince Charming

Leave a Reply

