Strange Days Indeed

Prince Charming has a job!  He’s working in the health care field . . . not exactly the job he had before but something that he’s trained in and something that he’s done before.  He’s going to be working four ten hour days.  He’s excited . . . I’m excited!

Since he got here in April, we have spent virtually every moment that I haven’t been at work together.  He was up in the morning when I left for work and kissed me good-bye at the door.  He was there when I came home for lunch and even fixed lunch for me every day.  He was there at the front door with Rocky and Millie when I came home at the end of the day.  We spent all day together on the weekends.  We went everywhere together.  It was a wonderful way to start a new relationship.

But we knew it was going to change when he went to work.  We had talked about it.  We were prepared for the changes.

He works an early shift which means he gets up at0’dark hundred and leaves the house before I’m even awake.  If I got up with him to see him off to work the way he always saw me off to work, I’d end up going back to bed for an hour before my normal wake up time.  He thought that was going to make for a very long day for me.  I worried that if I got up that early, Rocky and Millie would shift their schedule to think that breakfast was now being served at 0’dark thirty . . . and since they don’t know the difference between a work day and a weekend day I would have to serve them breakfast at 0’dark thirty every day.  Uh, no thank you!  That’s not a schedule change I want to start!

So he kisses me sweetly before he leaves for work and I tell him to have a good day.  He leaves for work.  I go back to sleep.  Millie watches him get ready for work and then snuggles back to sleep next to Rocky.

It’s been strange to not have him here in the morning when I wake up.  It’s been strange to not have him here when I come home for lunch.  Because of the restrictions of his job, we don’t talk on the phone or text like we have been doing over the summer.  It’s very strange to not talk to him during the day.

He works every other Saturday from 0’dark thirty until mid-afternoon.  This is the first Saturday in 6 months that I’ve been here by myself all day.  It’s been really strange today to be here without him.  I did some errands.  I’m doing laundry.  I’m channel surfing between chick flicks and football games.  I’m cleaning the house.  It’s almost like I’m single again . . . the whole house to myself.  The poor dogs are wandering around the house wondering where he is.  They keep coming in the house and looking around expecting Prince Charming to have mysteriously appeared in the 15 minutes since they last checked.

It’s been a very strange week . . . I miss having him around.  I admit that I got spoiled with the amount of time we got to spend together when he wasn’t working.  I got spoiled having somebody fix lunch for me every day!  Okay, I admit it . . . I’m a spoiled brat!  But this new schedule isn’t all bad.  I’ll admit I’ve been a little more productive today than I have been the last few months!  It’s gonna take some getting used to . . .

Thank heavens I haven’t settled into boringly normal just quite yet!

Leave a comment

Filed under family, PostADay, Prince Charming, Stuff

Leave a Reply

