Well That Was Fun

Every day I learn new things about Prince Charming . . . I learn how blessed I am to have him back in my life . . .

I have my Mom’s birthday party here at my house every year.  That means there are 17 people in the Little House for about 6 hours.  Mom loves having burgers on the grill but she doesn’t like to get the grill out for two little hamburgers for her and Dad so we usually have a cookout for her birthday.  I provide the hamburgers, hot dogs, and brats, and the cake.  The siblings bring side dishes and we have a good old fashioned cookout.

Okay, so I have a little bit of OCD and have to make sure things are “just so” for this event.  The house has to be clean.  The yard has to be mowed and trimmed.  The outdoor furniture needs to be cleaned.  The dogs have to be on their best behavior because the nieces don’t like big dogs.  I have to make sure I have enough food for everyone. Did I get the right kind of cake?  I obsess about EVERYTHING!

In the past, ExHubby was as OCD about it as I was . . . but there was always something about his demeanor during the prep for the party and the party that seemed a little off.  To him, it was a task that had to be done.  He went about all the tasks without much joy in his heart.  He dreaded having so many people in the house at one time.  He was always concerned about the cost of everything.  It seemed like he would rather do anything BUT host this party.  I picked up on that and it made my anxieties and insecurities even worse.  He never seemed to enjoy himself during the party . . . and that away a lot of my enjoyment of the day.

He was grumpy and that made me anxious and nervous and that made my OCD go off the charts.  Not only was I trying to make sure that everyone had a good time and the house and everything else was perfect, I had to make sure that ExHubby’s mood didn’t sour the day.  It was a lot of work.  As much as I love my Mom, I dreaded having her party every year.  At the end of the day of the party, I was exhausted!

Fast forward to this year’s party preps.  The usual anxiety and nervousness set in.  The obsessive list of things to be done was written and I talked to Prince Charming about what needed to be done.

Every conversation was met with “it’s okay, honey.  we’ll get it all done.”  Added to the usual list was finishing the painting job in the bathroom.  Why in the world did I wait so long to get started on that project?  Why do I always do this to myself?  “It’s okay, honey.  We’ll get it all done.”  The more OCD I got about the party, the calmer he was.  He tackled every task with a smile and a cheerful attitude.  When we went to the grocery to get the stuff for the party, he kept me from completely flipping out over the cost by pointing out how many wonderful meals we could have with the leftovers.  When I obsessed about if the house was clean enough, he pointed out to me that everyone was here for a party and they wouldn’t be checking out dust bunnies under the couch.  They would be checking out the new paint in the bathroom!  He was a breath of fresh air.

The day of the party, he was calm and organized and kept me on track and on schedule.  His calm demeanor slipped a couple of times when his OCD took over and I was able to give him the same advice he had given me.  “It’s okay, honey.  We’ll figure it out.”  It made him smile and, trust me, there’s nothing better than Prince Charming’s smile!

For the first time ever, I was not a complete nervous wreck the day of the party.  For the first time ever, I actually ATE during the party.  My stomach wasn’t tied in knots because of the stress of the day.  Every time I looked at him, Prince Charming had that beautiful smile on his face.  Every request for help was met with a fast “Yes, baby,” a big smile,  and then he did whatever it was I had asked.  It was a dream come true.

After the party, he helped me clean everything.  We did dishes.  We re-arranged furniture.  We ate leftover hamburgers and coleslaw.  When everything was finally done, we sat on the couch and I fell asleep on his shoulder shortly before he fell asleep resting his cheek on the top of my head.

Somebody pinch me ‘coz I’m pretty sure this can’t be real!

1 Comment

Filed under family, Parents, Play, PostADay, Prince Charming, Stuff

One response to “Well That Was Fun

  1. Nadine

    aaah, you so cute when you’re in love. I am so happy for you!

Leave a Reply

