This Is A Test . . .

And Prince Charming passed with flying colors.  It was his “how do you take care of a sick girlfriend” test.

It’s been hot and muggy here the last couple of weeks.  Highs in the 90’s with humidity so bad that the heat index is like 110!  The weather man is calling it “air you can wear” and you can feel it the minute you walk outside . . . it hasn’t been this bad in quite a few years.

Normally, I don’t mind summer.  I like the warmer weather.  I like the heat.   I don’t like the humidity.  Or rather, the humidity doesn’t like me.  The humidity triggers my migraines.  I’ve been very lucky and have had the migraines under control for a while . . . so much so that I can take over the counter meds whenever I get one.  Well, that streak has gone out the window.  I’ve had migraines off and on for the past week.

You know me, I’m a trouper.  I suck it up and deal with it.  I take the OTC meds and soldier on with life.  One foot in front of the other and all that jazz.  This has been a new experience for Prince Charming.  I’ve explained my history of migraines to him and that it’s not unusual for the headaches to last so long . . . and I’ve explained why I don’t have anything stronger than OTC meds to help me deal with it . . . and he’s been wonderfully understanding . . . and wonderfully supportive . . .

But there comes a time when “soldiering on” doesn’t work anymore and I have to give in and cry “Uncle” and let the migraine win . . . and that’s what I did on Monday.  I woke up and my head hurt worse than it had in a while.  I just didn’t have the strength to fight it anymore so I cried “uncle,” called in sick, and crawled back into bed.

Prince Charming woke up and was surprised that I was still in bed.  I explained that the migraine won and I was staying home from work today.  He asked if there was anything he could do to make it better . . . awww . . . I told him I just needed to sleep . . . bless his heart . . . he had me put my head on his shoulder and rubbed my right temple until I fell asleep again.

But wait . . . there’s more . . .

He waited on me hand and foot . . . he took the phone out of the bedroom so it wouldn’t wake me up . . . when I finally got up he made me tea and toast . . . he sat on the couch and let me rest my head on his shoulder and nap off and on most of the day . . . he gently convinced me that I needed to eat lunch . . . and take more meds . . . and drink more tea.  At one point I told him it was okay if he had stuff that he needed to do and he said that the only thing on his agenda for today was to make sure my headache went away . . . aaawwww . . .

So we sat on the couch and watched TV . . . not the trash TV that I normally watch when I’m home sick . . . it was the debt ceiling debate stuff on CNN and Fox but it didn’t really matter because I was napping most of the time . . . and besides, I was with Prince Charming . . .

I got lucky and the headache went away by the end of the day and (knock wood) it hasn’t come back . . .

I got lucky and have found a man that isn’t afraid to show his sensitive and caring side . . .

2 Comments

Filed under PostADay, Prince Charming, Stuff, Uncategorized

2 responses to “This Is A Test . . .

  1. Nadine

    He sounds very much like Roy! You have a keeper!!

  2. bigdogmompam

    Funny you use the word “keeper” because I said the very same thing to a friend of mine on Tuesday! He’s adorable!

Leave a Reply

