A Helping Hand

The hearing in my right ear is pretty bad and has been for a while.  A year ago, the ear doc said that it was time to start thinking about either surgery or a hearing aid.  While the hearing is bad, it’s not bad enough to make me a candidate for surgery yet.  He recommended a hearing aid.   

Okay to say that I was not happy about that development is an understatement.  But when I saw the results of the different hearing tests that had been done, I sucked it up and accepted the facts.  I need a hearing aid. 

I don’t make a lot of money and my insurance is less than stellar.  I would have to cover 100% of the cost of a hearing aid.  It was $2,500.  I don’t have that kind of money so the audiologist recommended me to the state’s department of vocational rehabilitation.  Since I had a job, and I needed the hearing aid to be able to do my job, they might be able to help cover the cost of the hearing aid.  Yippee!!

That has started me on a fruitless search for help . . . the state can’t help me because I’m not disabled enough.  With recent budget cuts, they can only help the seriously needy.  Since I have a job and only one disability, I don’t qualify as “seriously needy”.  The state gave me pages and pages of other resources that might be available to help me.

I’ve been following all these leads (and any other leads I can find) and getting more and more frustrated as the days go by. 

I make too much money to qualify for a lot of the programs.  Since I’m no longer a young adult and not yet a senior citizen, I don’t qualify for a lot of the other programs.  The discount programs are joke because the price WITH the discount is only a couple hundred dollars less than what my ENT doc is charging.  Because of the outstanding medical bills for my broken arm and the damage to my credit history from the bankruptcy XH and I filed two years ago, I can’t qualify for a loan or one of those “health care” credit cards. 

I get up every morning and go to work.  I work between 42 and 45 hours a week.  I don’t make a lot of money but I make enough to pay the bills with a little left over.  Things are a little tight, but I’m doing okay.  I’m very proud of the fact that I’m standing on my own two feet and doing just nicely on my own.  Things have been a little rough for me this year . . . the divorce . . . the broken arm . . . the medical bills . . . I’ve faced a lot of very hard things and done just fine thank you very much.  I’m sure I’ll figure out a way to do this, too.  But right now I’m pissed that I’m being penalized for what little success I’ve been able to achieve.  

 

Leave a comment

Filed under PostADay, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

