Getting To Know You

I’ve lived alone now for 6 months.

Before that, I was married to ExHubby for 26 years.

I’ve lived in this house for 20 years.

I’m kind of set in my ways.

Rocky, Millie, Fluff and I have a routine.

But we are very happy that Prince Charming is living with us.

He’s learning about us.  We’re learning about him.

The first thing we learned is that it’s difficult for a 6’2″ man to walk around in the basement of the Little House without bonking his head on something.  Poor guy has to walk “tilted” when he’s in the basement.  Considering that’s where the washer, dryer, and shower are he’s gonna spend a lot of time being “tilted.”

The second thing I learned is that there really are men that are willing to be equal partners when it comes to the housework stuff.  Honestly!  It’s not just lip service . . . okay maybe he’s on his best behavior because it’s all new, but I sure hope not!  He always offers to help with whatever I’m doing.  He does laundry . . . including folding and putting away!  He actually has an opinion when I ask what he wants for dinner!  He even says “I’ll cook . . . .” and then does!

The most important thing I’ve learned is that to accept the help that is offered.  It may not be done precisely the way I would do it, but it’s done and I didn’t have to do it!  He does it with joy in his heart because he is helping me.  The first time I heard “Why wouldn’t I help?  I live here too.”  I almost fell out of my shoes.  How can I not accept help from a beautiful man with twinkling green eyes and a huge smile on his face?

He’s learning that I wasn’t kidding when I told him that I’m a little OCD about stuff . . . and because I’m a little OCD about the daily routine, the dogs are a little OCD, too . . . and I’m perpetually running behind . . . and the dogs have me wrapped around their little paws . . .

So far it’s been fun . . .

Leave a comment

Filed under PostADay, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

