I Forget

I forget that Millie’s not a big bad black lab.  I forget that she’s just a puppy . . . a little less than a year old.
 
I forget that she’s not been a part of the family forever.  She’s only been part of the Big Dog Family for a little more than two months.
 
I forget the joys of watching a puppy discover the world around them.  She’s discovered lightning bugs, June bugs, earthworms, birds, squirrels, neighboorhood cats, and the sounds of other dogs on TV.  She’s also discovered (with Rocky’s help!) that The Nice Neighbor Man will give them doggie treats when he feeds his dogs at night. 
 
I forget what it’s like to have a young dog in the house.  And I’ve never had two dogs so young at the same time.  Rocky’s only 18 months old and Millie’s just shy of a year old.  It’s like having two babies in the house at the same time.  They’re on the go all the time. 
 
I forget how scary the new world is to a puppy.  She doesn’t like fireworks.  She isn’t too sure about the pool – it’s too much like a bath tub.  I have to be careful that I don’t sneak up on her, make any sudden moves or loud noises. She can be a little skittish. 
 
I forget what it’s like to have a Velcro Dog attached to my hip all the time.  Poor thing, I’ve crashed into her about a hundred times in the last two months.  I’m not sure if it’s her herding instinct or her fear that she’s going to miss something that keeps her so close to me all the time.
 
But most of all, I forget the joy of pulling up in front of the house at the end of the day and seeing their faces waiting for me at the front door.  Hubby says they go to the door about 4 p.m. and sit there until they see my car pull up a little after 5.  Then they fight over which toy to show me when I walk in the door.  No matter how bad my day is, that sight always puts a smile on my face.
 
Yes, I’m doing much better these days. 
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I Forget

  1. Beth

    Lovely post Pam. I am so glad things are working out for Millie and for you all.

Leave a Reply

