What Are The Odds??

I had to make a trip to the vet today to get flea stuff for Millie and Rocky.  Trust me, if it weren’t for the fact that I needed to get something for the dogs, I would not have gone back there.  But I put on my big girl pants and did what I had to do.
 
It was a little odd being in the waiting room and I was praying that none of the girls behind the desk would do the whole "I’m sorry for your loss." thing.  I got the flea stuff, paid for it and thought I was home free . . .
 
I started to walk toward the door to leave and walked into a beautiful black lab that was standing right in front of me.  I should have just walked past the dog and gone on my way.  But nooooo . . . I have to be polite!  OMG she was beautiful dog.  I could tell that she was just a young thing and I just had to ask how old she was.  Lab Mommy said she was 18 months old.  Oh dear do I remember those days!  I reached down to pet the pretty girl and I asked her name.  Lab Mommy said her name was Lucy.  (gasp!)  I immediately wrapped Lucy in a big hug and kissed the top of her head.  I was a little teary-eyed when I asked Lab Mommy if she was a handful.  Lab Mommy said "Oh, yes, she’s into everything.  I call her Lucifer because she’s evil."  I just looked at Lab Mommy with tears streaming down my face.  Poor Lab Mommy must have thought I’d lost my mind.  I explained that I had a black lab girl named Lucifer and she passed away two weeks ago.  Poor Lab Mommy didn’t know what to think.  Heck, I didn’t know what to think.  What are the odds that somebody else named their black lab girl Lucifer?  It’s not a common name for a girl dog.  I hugged Lucy one last time and left.
 
I had to sit in the car for a few minutes before I could drive home. 
 
I have to keep reminding myself that it’s only been two weeks . . . it’s gonna get better . . . right?
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What Are The Odds??

  1. Beth

    I am so sorry Pam. I know that it was very hard for you.Hugs,Beth

Leave a Reply

