Millie

You knew it was going to happen . . . you probably just didn’t expect it so soon . . .
 
 
Everybody, this is Millie . . . . Millie, this is everybody
 
Yes, I know it’s not the best picture, but it’s the best I can do right now.  She’s a bit of a whirling dervish.  So very excited to have a new home and a new family that she’s on the go . . . all the time. . . kind of like the Energizer Bunny.
 
She’s wearing me out.  She’s wearing Hubby out . . . which is funny because he’s the one that was so gung ho to get her . . . 
 
 
She’s wearing Rocky out, too! 
 
We adopted her from the same rescue group that we adopted Rocky from last year.  Her name was Melvene . . . which we hated, so we changed it to Melanie . . . but then we couldn’t remember her name so it ended up being Millie . . . which suits her somehow. 
 
She looks like Blacky but acts like Luci.  I think God’s sense of humor has a lot to do with Millie joining the family.  Since Blacky died, I’ve said a hundred times that I don’t know what to do with myself since I don’t have Blacky’s hair to clean up.  When Luci was sick, I prayed for my rambunctious evil Luci to come back.  Mom always said be careful what you wish for, you might end up with it.  Boy did I ever.  
 
From what we can tell, Millie’s about a year old – just slightly younger than Rocky.  She’s still got a lot of puppy energy so we think she might be slightly less than a year old.  Her previous family didn’t pay much attention to her and she ran off alot.  Luckily, we don’t seem to have that problem with her.  She’s a very smart girl and knows some basic obedience commands.  However, her curiousity gets the better of her and she has to investigate everything.  Boy, does that sound familiar!  She has a fascination with shoes and has been dragging them all over the place when she finds them.  Makes for some very interesting games of hide and seek!  
 
I have to admit that I was very upset with Hubby when he suggested that we take Rocky and go look at doggies to add to the family.  I knew that "look" meant "adopt" and I didn’t want any part of that.  I wasn’t ready.  I wanted to grieve.  I wanted to be angry.  I wanted to be sad and sit on the couch and cry.  I thought it would be mean to bring a new dog into the house so soon after losing Luci.  What would Rocky think?  Poor Rocky had known that Luci was sick and I think he had a better idea of how bad it was than I did.  He’s such a gentle loving dog and I couldn’t tell if he was grieving over Luci or just being his normal wonderful self.  My wonderful boy took to Millie like a duck to water and Millie loved us.  I got initiated less than 1 minute after meeting her.  Muddy paw prints on my shirt.  Broken purse strap.  Nice bruise on my chin when I bent down to pet her and she head-butted me in the chin. 
 
 
She torments Rocky the same way that he tormented Luci just one short year ago!  Hubby and I have been telling him all week that it’s payback for how he tormented Luci last year.  He seems to understand.  He’s very happy that he’s got someone to play with although he’s not so sure about the fact that he’s no longer the baby in the family. 
 
 
I kept saying I wasn’t ready and that Hubby was the one to have to deal with her.  Hubby said that was fine.  I kept saying I wasn’t getting up in the middle of the night and I’m not going to be the one training her.  He said that was fine, too.  I thought yea, right.  Well, Hubby is the one getting up with her in the middle of the night, but since I’m the one doing the walks, I’m the one doing most of the training.  Not a bad trade-off, I suppose.  Yes, I’m warming up to her . . . yes, I find myself calling her Luci and then crying when I realize that it’s not Luci . . . yes, I see that Hubby had my best interests at heart . . .
 
It’s still been a very bad week, but Millie has given me hope . . . .  
 
P.S.  Millie’s middle name is Lucifer . . . in honor of Luci . . .
6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Millie

  1. Dori

    I had a feeling you would adopt a dog this weekend! YEAH!!! I\’m so glad and already in love with Millie. I like her name – we once had brother and sister Basset Hounds – previously named Milley and Happy and we kept their names. She is adorable and I\’m glad she is past the little tiny puppy stage – and I love you also named her after Luci – you know she is smiling down at you – her and Blacky both!! Can\’t wait to hear all about the adventures of Rocky and sister Millie.

  2. Dori

    One more thought – if I was a dog and someone named me "Melvene" – I\’d run away too !!

  3. Grandma's

    First off I want to apologize about missing all the posts when poor Luci was ill….but in the end you made the right decision. Luci is at peace. I\’m happy that Rocky has a new playmate…I\’m sure Luci is looking down and wagging her tail in approval. Some say animals don\’t have souls and don\’t go to heaven….I don\’t believe that for a minute. All my late cats and dogs will be there to welcome me one day.You will always carry Luci and Blacky in your heart. I have a Blacky that I carry around in my heart too.(((Hugs)))

  4. Nadine

    Thank Goodness for people like you! Those that love big dogs are a rare breed. I\’m so very glad you have a new dog. She looks like a border collie mix…if so she\’s stay hyper.Hugs!!

  5. Nadine

    Millie Lou… that\’s a good name.

  6. Beth

    A very warm welcome from me to Millie!

Leave a Reply

