New Year’s Resolutions

Every year, I make the resolutions.  Every year I stick with them for about a week or so.  Every year I kick myself for not sticking with them.  Soooo, I thought if I published my resolutions, I would be more motivated to stick with them.  
 
Here’s what my New Year’s Resolutions are for 2010
 
1.  Improve my cooking skills.  I’m a good cook, but I’m not a great cook.  There are some things that I do wonderfully well (macaroni and cheese) and some things that I’m will never master (scalloped potatoes).  A big part of my problem is that I have no patience when it comes to cooking.  I try to rush through whatever I’m cooking so that I can get on to the next thing on my list.  This year, I resolve to be more patient and to allow myself the time I need to get the job done. 
 
2.  Spend more time for me.  After the last few years of dealing with MIL and her health issues, I’m at a loss on what to do with all the free time I have lately.  I didn’t have time for my cross-stitch, my knitting, or my reading.  I’ve already bought three books to read and I plan to dust off my library card.  I dug out my knitting a couple of weeks ago and am making progress on a new project.  Same with the cross stitch.  My plan is to get a piece completed and entered in the county fair at the end of July. 
 
3.  Their drama is not my drama.  It’s time for me to realize that Jr. and Princess are adults with families and lives of their own.  As hard as it is for me to admit, I can’t solve their problems for them.  All I can do is offer advice (if they ask for it) and let them lead their own lives.  FIL had a saying "if you can’t hear, you can feel" and I have to learn to apply that to the kids.  This is gonna be a hard one.
 
That’s it.  Three little things.  Sounds easy.  Seems doable.  But then it’s only January 3 . . .
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Beth

    I have faith in you Pam. You can do these things.

Leave a Reply

