A Christmas Story

The Gander Mountain Christmas Circular arrived in the mail today.  Hubby looked at it and found something he wanted for Christmas.  I looked at the circular and saw something I wanted.  No, I’ve never been to Gander Mountain.  But they have something I want for Christmas.  I showed it to Hubby and said . . .
 
"I want an Official Red Ryder Carbine-Action Two-Hundred Shot Range Model Air Rifle!"
 
Without skipping a beat, Hubby replied, "You’ll shoot your eye out."
 
I laughed until I cried. 
 
I’m so proud!!  Hubby answered in the correct context without even giving it a second thought!  This is a major accompishment.  I LOVE the movie "A Christmas Story"  I watch it as many times as humanly possible during the holiday season.  Nevermind that I’ve got my very own DVD copy of the movie that’s NEVER BEEN OPENED!!!  There’s just something about watching it on TV.  Every year I watch the 24 hours of "A Christmas Story" on TBS.  I recite entire scenes while the movie is on.  Hubby does not share my fascination with this movie.  In fact, he avoids it like the plague.  He tolerates it because of me.  So the fact that he got the joke and completed the line was an early Christmas gift to me. 
 
There’s a lot to be said for spending over half your life with the same man . . .
 
But, seriously, I want a Red Ryder BB gun for Christmas . . . .
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A Christmas Story

  1. Beth

    Yes, there is a lot to be said; and as the years pass you will appreciate each other more and more.I don\’t like that movie. Jim loved it and watched every chance he got. 🙂

Leave a Reply

