Bye, Bye Baby

This is Baby.  She lives with my Mom and Dad.  Mom adopted Baby to be a companion for Dad.
 
 
 
They rescued her five years ago from the local animal shelter.  Her previous owner was a sweet little lady that had to move to a nursing home and couldn’t take Baby with her.  We think that Baby was about 6 or 7 years old when she came to live with Mom and Dad so that would make her about 12 or 13 years old now. 
 
 
 
Because we don’t know a lot about Baby’s history, we have to guess about why she does the things she does.  She doesn’t like to play with toys and she doesn’t play fetch.  She’s a picky eater and prefers to have a little bit of people food mixed into her doggie dish but there isn’t a brand of doggie treat that she doesn’t like.  She loves to go for walks and rides in the car.  She was a friendly dog that loved everybody. 
 
 
When I visit Mom and Dad, I have to say hello to Baby before I say hello to anybody else in the house.  She’s my buddy and she never lets me out of her eyesight.  I’ve been known to spend an entire visit at Mom and Dad’s sitting on the floor with Baby. 
 
 
 
Baby passed away on Sunday afternoon.  It was sudden and it was awful.  We don’t know exactly happened but we think it was a stroke.  She was fine Sunday morning and by 1 p.m. Sunday afternoon she wasn’t able to walk.  Little Brother and Little Sister rushed Mom and Baby to the Emergency Vet clinic and they told Mom that Baby was paralyzed from the waist down and she was going downhill fast.  That’s when Mom realized that it was time to let Baby go.  I wasn’t home when Little Brother called to let me know they were going to the emergency vet . . . and he didn’t want to give me such bad news on my cell phone . . . so I didn’t get a chance to say good-bye to my furry little buddy. 
 
  
 
So now you know why I’ve had the chorus from this really old song playing in my head all week.
 
  
 
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Bye, Bye Baby

  1. Beth

    Pam, I know how very much you love dogs. I am so sorry for all of you that loved Baby. She was a beautiful dog.

  2. Grandma's

    I saw Beth Marie\’s comment and I just had to come by to tell you that I, too, am sorry for all of you that loved baby. Our dogs are a big part of the family and to lose one leaves a hole in one\’s heart. We lost a dog in the exact same way…so heartbreaking. I have no doubt Baby had a wonderful five years with your mom and dad. I wish more people would rescue older animals from shelters.

  3. Nadine

    I\’m very sorry to hear about your parents\’ dog. She sounds like a special dog.

Leave a Reply

