Do Internet Love Stories Have Happy Endings?

All names have been changed . . . for obvious reasons . . .
 
One of my best girlfriends is someone I’ve known since 7th grade (no need to do the math – that’s about 35 years).  She still lives in the little town where we grew up and is very active in the school district where we went to school.  For the last 20 some years, I’ve seen her at various school functions (my nieces & nephews are in that school district) and out and about in town.  Every time I see her, it’s like time stands still and we’re back in high school, but this time we’re talking about kids, jobs, husbands . . . we were still close but not day-to-day close like we were in high school.  I was cool with that. 
 
That all changed a few weeks ago.  In the midst of all the drama with MIL’s last illness, I went from hearing from her a few times a year to talking almost every day.  If it weren’t for the drama in my own life right now, I might be better prepared to deal with the latest developments. 
 
For the sake of this story, I’ll call my frend Chessie.
 
Chessie has been in love with High School Sweetheart for almost 30 years.  Unfortunately, the romance between Chessie and High School Sweetheart didn’t quite work out.  There was a lot of unfinished business between Chessie and High School Sweetheart.  He joined the service and went to see the world.  She searched for him but was never able to find him.  He never came back home to look for her.  Chessie married Husband #1 and had two beautiful daughters.  Marriage #1 didn’t work out and they divorced when the girls were still in elementary school.  About 7 years ago, Chessie married Husband #2.  Seemed like a nice man.  Loved the girls.  Worked hard.  Treated Chessie like a queen.  From the outside, they looked happy and I never heard her complain. 
 
About a month ago, Chessie got a message from High School Sweetheart through F @(e B** K Seemingly innocent request to say hi and catch up on what’s going on in her life now.  That seemingly innocent request has turned into a full blown internet romance.  Complete with plans for Chessie to take a trip to visit High School Sweetheart to pick up where they left off some 28 years ago.  If things go well, she’s thinking of moving to where he is sometime after the first of the year. 
 
I’m all for happy endings, but this story disturbs me on a whole bunch of levels . . .
1.  She’s MARRIED!!.
2.  Her youngest daughter still has a year or so left of high school.  If Chessie moves to Where He Is, then Oldest Daughter will move into Family Home to take care of Youngest Daughter until graduation.
3.  The only thing Chessie knows about High School Sweetheart is what he’s told her.  They’ve been apart for 28 years and a lot can happen in 28 years.  The person you were THEN isn’t necessarily the person you are NOW.  There’s no guarantee that what he’s telling her is The Truth . . . 
4.  Chessie has told me that what happens during her Thanksgiving Visit will determine how she handles her marriage . . .
 
Chessie keeps asking for my opinion and I keep telling her that she’s moving too fast, that she really needs to clean up her present situation with Hubby #2 before she plans a future with High School Sweetheart, and she needs to be very very careful about jumping into thing with both feet and with her eyes closed.  I hate to be a wet blanket, but I really don’t see a happy ending for her with this guy.  He got spooked and walked away once, what’s to say he won’t do it again?  I sound like a broken record and she’s not listening.  She’s moving full speed ahead with her plans to capture her happily ever after.
 
It’s like watching a train wreck.  I know what’s going to happen but I can’t do anything to stop it.  And I’ll be the one that’s here to help put her back together again when it all blows up in her face.  And it all started with a Friend Request from some stupid website . . .
 
But if I’m wrong . . . she gets her Happily Ever After . . . after 28 years . . .
 
You have no idea how badly I want to be wrong . . .
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Do Internet Love Stories Have Happy Endings?

  1. Nadine

    Good advice. but you know she has lived her whole life wondering "What If?". She needs to meet with him and see him face to face. Even have a romp but not give it all up.

  2. Big Dog Mom

    She\’s gonna give it all up and move to Where He Is after the first of the year. I can understand the whole "What if" scenario – heck, I\’ve lived it myself. Ya know, there\’s a reason they\’re called Ex-Boyfriends. Anyhooo . . . she\’s not taking me seriously because I\’ve been happily married for 25 years and what would I know . . . .

  3. Beth

    You have given your friend excellent advice. If she is so silly as to go ahead with her plans she is jeporadizing her here and now. Perhaps he has changed physically too, that could certainly turn her off.

Leave a Reply

