Checking In

I’m here.  I’m fine – tired, but overall fine.  I still have my "moments" where everything overwhelms me and I have a small pity party for me and Hubby. 
 
We’re getting MIL’s house ready for auction.  Gathering up her things and trying to decide if we want to keep some stuff or sell it.  How do you decide to sell stuff that was part of MIL’s life . . . I’ve bought out all the 20 gallon containers at the local dollar stores.  How could one little lady gather up so much stuff? 
 
Hubby’s patience is non-existant these days.  He thinks the estate process should be moving along faster.  He doesn’t understand why he’s getting the third degree from everyone he’s talked to about MIL’s utilities, credit cards, mortgage.  Almost everyone is requesting a copy of the death certificate.  Which we don’t have yet . . .
 
The poor doggies schedule is completely screwed up.  I’m hoping that things calm down soon so we can get back to their schedule.  I really miss our nightly walks.
 
Since I took a week off for the funeral, my sense of time is completely screwed up .  I can’t believe it’s the 20th of October already.  I have to buy Halloween candy this weekend.  It’s Jr’s birthday on Sunday.  
 
My house is a cluttered mess.  There’s always something that Hubby drags home from MIL’s house.  Something important that he can’t bear to pack away or sell.  I have no idea where we’re going to put this stuff. 
 
Saw a commercial for "It’s The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown".  It’s going to be on next Tuesday. 
 
We get up every day, put one foot in front of the other and get through the day.  Most of the time, each new day is easier than the day before.  But then something small will set me back a step or two.  Let’s just say I’m grateful for the many boxes of tissues that MIL insisted she have at all times.  I’m getting lots of use out of those tissues.  Yes, I hear her voice every day telling me, "I told you they would come in handy!"   
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Checking In

  1. Beth

    You will both come through this. It is hard. We went through this when Jim\’s mother died several years ago. The auction of her home and belongings was the hardest part of all.

Leave a Reply

