One Foot in Front of the Other

That’s how we’re getting through the day.  We get up.  We put one foot in front of the other.  After a while, we realize that a few hours have gone by and we’re getting stuff done.
 
Hubby’s suit fits and doesn’t need pressed.  Yippee!!  I even found a tie that we had forgotten about so that he’s not wearing the exact same outfit to his Mother’s funeral that he wore to his Father’s.  Oh crap.  I just remembered I have to check his shoes . . . and socks.  Geeze, does this to do list ever end?
 
Hubby went with me to pick out an outfit for Mother to wear for the funeral.  Like everything else, he said he would know the perfect outfit when he saw it.  He found the outfit the minute we walked into the store.  I have to admit that it looks like something she would pick out for herself.  Except for the shoes.  I hate the shoes and I think they totally don’t work with the outfit.  But how do you disagree with your husband about shoes he’s buying for his Mother for her funeral?
 
My little black dress fits but it needs to be washed.  Thank heavens for machine washable clothes.  I don’t have the strength to deal with the dry cleaner.  I found a pair of panty hose but I need to find a jacket to go with the dress.  Thankfully I found my black dress up shoes.   
 
I’m cleaning the house so that it won’t be such a disaster when everyone comes.  Little Sister offered to come help, but I’m too embarrassed to have her see the clutter.
 
The Lovely Funeral Home sent over dinner for us tonight.  Warm dinner from a local deli. It showed up just as I was starting to think about what the heck am I going to do for dinner?  We picked this funeral home because of the wonderful service they had given to us over the years when dealing with the death of Goldie and Blacky.  We figured if the level of service was this fantastic when dealing with a deceased pet, can you imagine the service you’d get for a human family member?  We have not been disappointed.  They are amazing. 
 
The sibling issue is still a complete puzzlement to me.  Hubby’s family just isn’t very close at all.  I’m from a very close large family and the stuff going on with Hubby and The Siblings is the complete opposite of what I would expect a family to do in this type of situation.  I don’t really know why I’m surprised.  Hubby and I have been dealing with all of the Mother issues by ourselves for a long time . . . why would I think that things would change now? 
 
Luci and Rocky know something is going on but they aren’t sure what.  They’re very clingy and spending lots of time with Hubby.  Hubby’s been very clingy – which is totally not like him – and has not gone anywhere alone since the whole drama started.  Every appointment, every task we’ve completed together.  I know that he’s hurting now and I think having me there with him is his security blanket.  If he loses his composure, I’ll be there to finish the conversation.  At least that’s how it’s been going so far.
 
Off I go.  Putting one foot in front of the other to finish this day . . .
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “One Foot in Front of the Other

  1. Beth

    My thoughts and prayers are with you both.

  2. Loural

    Unfortunately that\’s how it is…keep putting that one foot in front of the other and eventually it\’ll be a little easier. Lots of prayers and thoughts to you and the hubby.

  3. Dori

    Pam, I am so sorry to hear of your MIL\’s passing – although I didn\’t expect it so soon it wasn\’t a surprise. You and Hubby will handle everything just fine, as your always have. He really does need your strength now – so God Bless You for keeping him upright and making all the difficult arrangements AND dealing with the siblings.By the way, we went back to KS a few weeks ago for my sister\’s funeral. That\’s my fourth sibling to pass – and I have NEVER heard of a funeral home supplying dinner to the family. You just gotta love your town. Lifting you up in my prayers …..Dori

Leave a Reply

