Sanity

Life has been hectic and complicated lately.  I’m trying to take care of a dozen different things at once and I have the feeling that I’m not doing any of them well.
 
But then I walk through the front door and see . . .
 
 
Actually, they’re a lot more animated when I walk in the door.  Tails wagging and licking my hands and trying to get as close as possible to me. 
 
 
This is their idea of supervising while I’m cooking supper.  This is where they stay when I tell them to get out of the way so I can cook.  Then they give me sad puppy eyes and wait for me to drop something.  Of course I always drop something.  Could you resist those faces?
 
 
 
This is the most recent close-up of Rocky.  It’s a little hard to get him to sit still for a picture.  Or keep his eyes open. 
 
 
Of course, Luci can’t be bothered to pose.  She has some serious sunbathing to do.  Yes, she likes to sun herself on the deck.  Then she’ll wait for the AC to kick on and then she’ll come inside and lay in front of the register in the kitchen. 
 
Their faces are the first thing I see in the morning and the last thing I see before I go to sleep.  Well, Luci’s face is the first thing I see because she’s right there by the bed when the alarm goes off.  Rocky is not a morning dog and it takes him a couple of minutes before he gets moving in the morning.  Both of them come to give me good night kisses before they snuggle up on the doggie beds.  Sometimes I wake up in the middle of the night and just listen to all of them snore – Hubby, Luci, and Rocky.  That’s the sweetest sound ever. 
 
Rocky is now 8 months old.  I can’t believe puppyhood is almost over for him.  He’s such a sweet gentle boy that I sometimes forget that he’s still just a baby.  But then he’ll run full force down the length of the backyard and crash into Luci and I remember they’re both just young dogs.  We still haven’t figured out what the "mix" is in Boxer Mix and we aren’t sure if we want to find out.  We’ve been told that we can have a DNA test done to solve the mystery, but I think that would take away part of his charm. 
 
Yea, life is a little hectic right now.  But those two fuzzy babies are what’s helping me and Hubby keep our sanity. 
 
 
 
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sanity

  1. Beth

    Pam, I am so glad you finally posted some new pics of Rocky and Luci. They are really such a good looking pair. Don\’t they tend to balance out the hard to deal with stuff going on in your life right now?

  2. Big Dog Mom

    The highlight of my day is taking them for a walk. I love to watch Rocky walk along side Luci. He\’s just so happy to be out and about with his two favorite women. Luci\’s teaching him all the tricks of sniffing fire hydrants and stop signs. They both have a devoted fan club that wait for them every night. They do make the hard-to-deal-with stuff more bearable.

  3. Dori

    Pam, thanks so much for the pics of the pooches. I am wondering whether Rocky might have some Lab in him – what do you think?? Their expressions while they watch you cook is adorable. I\’m with you on them being the best stress-relievers. I walk my two almost every morning about 6:30 – they look so cute and love walking together. Actually they walk better together than they do separately – I think each one is trying to outdo the other and hear the "What a good boy your are" or "Such a good girl" !! Dogs eat praise up just like us humans. I always say I would be richer and my house would be perfect without dogs – but I don\’t think that would even be living.Take Special Care.

  4. Big Dog Mom

    Its entirely likely that it\’s lab, but then I\’m also thinking maybe some pit bull. Basset. St. Bernard. Beagle. Heaven only knows what the true mix is. I do know that he\’s the best part of all the breeds because he\’s such a lovely dog. A true gentleman and perfectly well behaved. I swear that Luci is Goldie reincarnated and Rocky is Blacky reincarnated. Two completely opposite personalities that get along so well together. Right now they are asleep with their heads touching. I\’m so lucky to have them.

Leave a Reply

