Spooked

The firework season started officially here in my neighborhood on July 2.  Just some light stuff.  Bottle Rockets.  A few Roman Candles.  Luci enjoyed looking at the pretty colors of the Roman Candles and the other stuff didn’t seem to bother her too much.  Rocky was taking his cues from Luci and if she wasn’t bothered, then he wasn’t bothered . . . much.  He couldn’t figure out where the noise was coming from but it didn’t seem to bother Mommy or Sissy, so it must have been okay.  At one point during the night, they were running laps in the backyard totally oblivious to the noise around them.  I let out a big sigh of relief.  I even told Hubby that it might be the first time in 15 years that we wouldn’t have to worry about dogs being upset by the noise of fireworks. 
 
See, Goldie and Blacky (our previous dogs) were both afraid of the noise of fireworks.  Goldie had a mild case of fireworks anxiety and most of the time she was fine if she was in the house and we had the TV on for her.  Blacky had more of a generalized anxiety disorder and he disliked thunderstorms as well as fireworks.  The poor boy got so upset by the storms and fireworks that we had to give him some meds to help calm him down.  Goldie would only bark and carry on if she was outside and could hear the fireworks.  Blacky would bark if he was outside but he would pace and pant if he was in the house. It was very stressful for them and for me and Hubby.  We hated leaving them home alone during the 4th of July.  
 
Neither Luci or Rocky have any thunderstorm anxiety.  Luci had a small amount of firework anxiety but I always felt that it was because Blacky was so anxious about them and she was just reacting to his fears instead of being fearful herself.  This is Rocky’s first 4th of July so I had no idea how he was going to react.  Hubby and I kept our fingers crossed that we might finally have a non-stress 4th of July.  
 
The dogs and I went for a walk tonight and there were some mild fireworks going off.  Neither dog seemed very upset, so we continued most of the walk.  I did avoid the area where the majority of the fireworks noise was coming from.  No need to tempt my luck.  We came home and everything seemed fine . . . . until one of the neighbors set off the big guns.  Oh.  My.  Garwsh.  Both of the dogs were running circles in the yard and barking at everything.  It was all I could do to get them in the house and calmed down.  I know it’s too late now but, man, I wish I had talked to the vet about meds just in case. 
 
It’s going to be a long weekend. 
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Spooked

  1. Beth

    Poor Luci and Rocky! I hope it doesn\’t turn out to be that bad for them.

Leave a Reply

