Throwing Papers

I help Hubby with his paper route on the weekends.  Friday Night and Saturday Night I’m at the newspaper office helping him get the inserts ready for the Sunday paper.  It’s a lot more involved than you might think . . the TV listings and part of the ads are one set and the comics and the other part of the ads are the second set.  You put them together on Friday night.  On Saturday night you get the classified ads and the Sunday paper.  Add those two parts to the two parts you did on Friday night and you have a Sunday paper.  Pretty labor intensive and having a second body means that Hubby gets the papers delivered and is back home before daylight. 
 
Another part of the job is the Shoppers Extra – a free set of grocery ads for customers that don’t get a Sunday paper.  These have to be delivered by 12 noon on Sunday.  I usually deliver these on Saturday morning.  As a matter of fact, I just got home from this weeks delivery. 
 
I’ve been helping Hubby with this for about 3 months now.  It’s not too bad now that the weather is nice.  It was rough when it was really cold outside.  
 
But the most interesting part of the job is seeing what’s going on in Smalltown after midnight.  I never realized there was so much going on after dark.  The bars are all doing a booming business . . . and they seem to be much busier now that the weather is warmer. 
 
Then there are the people that are up at all hours of the night.  You’d think that most people would be asleep at 2 or 3 in the morning.  Nope, they’re up.  Watching TV.  On the computer.  Going places.  I pass a McDonald’s on my way to deliver papers.  I know that McDonald’s is open 24 hours a day but I wondered how much business they really did.  There’s always a line at the drive thru and it’s not a typically busy part of town. 
 
I love to people watch so this is a great source of amusement for me.  Makes it almost worth getting up in the middle of the night to throw papers.
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Throwing Papers

  1. Beth

    Sounds very interesting. I have no idea what goes on in my little town after dark because I am always in before dark. 😉

  2. Dori

    Pam. oh how this blog brings up old memories. My very first full-time job was at a newspaper office. They published a weekly paper and on \’paper day\’, all employees marched to the back and helped do all those inserts. I enjoyed it as it was a nice change of pace from my secretarial and circulation duties. Many years later, my youngest son had a paper route – it was a large paper, not local, that surprisingly a lot of people in our small town subscrbed to. On Sunday mornings I would get up and we would roll the papers in the kitchen and put rubber bands around them. This paper was huge because of all the inserts. Then I would accompany him on his route. What I remember most was the way he would drive, ignoring all stop signs, because there was almost nobody around at that time of the night. Fond memories I have of spending this time with him.Want to comment on your puppy classes, and will do that another time. In the meantime, keep up your blog – it is my fav as my love of dogs equals yours.

  3. Big Dog Mom

    @ Dori – I\’ve got to confess that I have been known to do a "hollywood" at stop signs and bend speed limits laws. There aren\’t many people out that early but I saw three deer on one of the main roads on our route on Saturday morning at 2:30 a.m. Throwing papers is way harder than my day job at the hospital, but I have to admit that I really enjoy it. Except for the part where Hubby is my boss and he\’s a perfectionist . . .

Leave a Reply

