Bright Spot

I’m feeling better.  The cold is finally gone.  There’s still a little bit of a cough, but I’m finally off all the meds.  Yippee!!
 
While that makes me happy . . . today something happened that brightened up my day.  Something that I look forward to every year.  The fact that it happened when I was feeling whiny is a great blessing.
 
I got my first box of Girl Scout Cookies of the season.  Yes, the beautiful little girls were at *Krogers* last night when I was picking up something for supper.  They stopped me as I was going in and I promised that I would stop on my way out.  Oh, boy, did I ever.  I checked out their display.  I got the scoop on the newcookies from the girls and their mother.  (Even Dad was there to help sell the cookies!)  I debated over what to buy.  Then I bought two boxes of Thin Mints.  Very predictable I know, but there is no better was to ease the winter blahs than Girl Scout Thin Mint cookies.  The Mom told me that they would be at several local big stores from now through March.  Happy, happy.  Joy, joy.   I need to talk to Hubby about what kind of cookies he wants and make a few more trips to get my yearly supply.
 
I did notice that the box is slightly smaller and there aren’t quite as many cookies in each box.  But I don’t care.  They’re Girl Scout Cookies.  It’s a tradition to buy them every winter.  I even buy a box to put in the freezer to eat on my birthday in July.  There’s nothing better than eating those frozen cookies in July.  It’s especially important to support the local Girl Scouts with the economy so bad this year.  Yea, money is tight all over – even here at the Big Dog House – but there are somethings that you just have to do.  And Girl Scout cookies are one of those things.  I can always scrape up $3 for a box of cookies. 
 
And once you see the smile on those little girls faces when you buy a box, you’ll understand why. 
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Bright Spot

  1. Beth

    I agree about the girl scouts. I was a scout leader 100 years ago when my daughter was small. I love all of their cookies.Glad you are feeling better.

Leave a Reply

