Rocky

He’s 11 weeks old, weighs 25 lbs., and is 15 inches high at the shoulder.  His mommy is a beautiful Boxer mix with the sweetest face and disposition I’ve ever seen in a dog.  We have no idea who his daddy is.  We’re pretty sure there’s some St. Bernard in there somewhere but we aren’t sure how much . . . and we’re not sure what else he’s mixed with.  Mommy was dropped off at the shelter very pregnant and delivered 13 puppies within days after her arrival.  
 
He has Hubby and Luci wrapped around his little paw.  He is a cute little guy – aren’t all puppies that age cute? – and he’s certainly brought a lot of excitement into the house the last couple of days.  I’m not saying that I don’t like him . . . I’m just saying that it might be a little too early for me to give my heart over to him.  Every day my heart heals more over the loss of Blacky and there’s more room for Rocky. 
 
He snores louder than Luci.  He would rather eat Luci’s big dog food than his puppy chow.  Luci would rather eat his puppy chow instead of her big dog food.  But when she was a puppy I couldn’t get her to eat the puppy chow to save my life.  Just yesterday we heard him growl and bark for the first time.  If his growl and bark is this loud at 11 weeks, I can’t wait to hear what it is when he’s full grown.  He gets hiccups after eating.  We’re doing okay on the potty training issue, although he’s not too confident in his ability to go down the stairs on the deck and has gone potty on the deck if we aren’t there to help him.  At least he’s not making messes in the house. 
 
He loves Luci and Luci seems to love him.  They chase each other through the house and in the yard.  He steals toys from her, she steals them back.  When they get tired they sleep together on the same doggie bed.  He’s not happy unless he’s touching her.  She seems very happy to have him there next to her.  There are times when I can tell that she’s wondering where Blacky is, but she’s not as lost as she was right after Blacky died.  There are still moments when she’ll sit on the deck or under the pine tree by herself, but mostly she’s right there next to Rocky.   If she’s out of his sight for too long, he’ll sit at my feet and whine at me to help him find her. 
 
We’re trying to crate train him, but he isn’t having any part of it.  Every time we put him in the crate, he whines and howls at the top of his lungs until we let him out.  Hubby is a softer touch than I am with this.  Hubby lets him out every time.  Since Hubby is the one responsible for the 3 a.m. potty breaks, I have no problem with that. 
 
The cat isn’t too sure about the latest addition to the family.  Fluff will sneak into the house at night when he knows that the dogs aren’t around and then sneak back out in the morning.  Yes, I know it’s strange to have a boy cat named Fluff.  All I can say is that neither Hubby or I named the cat.  He came to us a year or so ago with that name and we didn’t see any reason to change it.  
 
So there you have it . . . all the details of the newest addition to the Big Dog Family.  If you thought the Blacky and Luci stories were something, wait for the Luci and Rocky stories.  Fasten your seatbelts.  I think we’re in for a fun ride.  
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Rocky

  1. Beth

    I really like this post. It does my heart good that Luci likes her new companion and isn\’t missing Blackie so much. I will be waiting to read about their adventures.

  2. Big Dog Mom

    One of their first adventures together include chasing a possum out of the yard.

  3. Dori

    FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO HAVE PETS, THIS IS A TRUE STORY. FOR THOSE THAT DON\’T, IT IS A TRUE STORY. The following was found posted very low on a refrigerator door.Dear Dogs and Cats: The dishes with the paw prints are yours and contain your food. The other dishes are mine and contain my food. Placing a paw print in the middle of my plate and food does not stake a claim for it becoming your food and dish, nor do I find that aesthetically pleasing in the slightest.The stairway was not designed by NASCAR and is not a racetrack. Racing me to the bottom is not the object. Tripping me doesn\’t help because I fall faster than you can run.I cannot buy anything bigger than a king sized bed. I am very sorry about this. Do not think I will continue sleeping on the couch to ensure your comfort, however. Dogs and cats can actually curl up in a ball when they sleep. It Is not necessary to sleep perpendicular to each other, stretched out to the fullest extent possible. I also know that sticking tails straight out and having tongues hanging out on the other end to maximize space is nothing but sarcasm.For the last time, there is no secret exit from the bathroom! If, by some miracle, I beat you there and manage to get the door shut, it is not necessary to claw, whine, meow, try to turn the knob or get your paw under the edge in an attempt to open the door. I must exit through the same door I entered. Also, I have been using the bathroom for years – canine/feline attendance is not required.The proper order for kissing is: Kiss me first, then go smell the other dog or cat\’s butt. I cannot stress this enough.Finally, in fairness, dear pets, I have posted the following message on the front door:TO ALL NON-PET OWNERS WHO VISIT AND LIKE TO COMPLAIN ABOUT OUR PETS:(1) They live here. You don\’t. (2) If you don\’t want their hair on your clothes, stay off the furniture. That\’s why they call it \’fur\’-niture. (3) I like my pets a lot better than I like most people. (4) To you, they are animals. To me, they are adopted sons/daughters who are short, hairy, walk on all fours and don\’t speak clearly.

Leave a Reply

