Nostalgia

The radio station that I listen to most often is having a nostalgia weekend.  They’re playing 80 hours of 80’s hits.  We won’t go into how disturbing it is to think of 80’s music as nostalgia.  I was already in a nostagic mood since my Dad is turning 80 this year, my oldest grandson is turning 18 (gulp!), Hubby is turning 55, and Hubby and I are going to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary this year.  The flashback weekend didn’t help that mood much.  Some of the music I heard is stuff that I hadn’t heard in years.  Oh and the memories that came flooding back to me.   

The music was the soundtrack to my life.  It was the background music while I was juggling work, being a newlywed, and college.  Jr. and Princess were teenagers in the 80’s and they were as hooked on MTV as I was . . . even if their taste in music wasn’t exactly the same as mine.   I do give them credit for exposing me to music I wouldn’t have listened to otherwise. 

I’m amazed at how fast the time has passed.  Princess is going to be 35 this year.  Baby Brother will turn 40.  There are days when I still feel like a 20 year old newlywed.  Where did the time go?  When did I become a grown-up?  I’m an old fogie that drives a station wagon for heaven’s sake. 

Maybe it’s normal to be nostalgic this time of year.  To look back on the past and dream of the future.  I sure have done a lot of that the last few days.  And it came with one heck of a soundtrack.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Nostalgia

  1. Sue

    Okay, I thought I was the only one feeling this way. And those songs! Is it just to rub it in our face? Seriously, I think I want a do-over.

Leave a Reply

