Teenagers

 
Okay, technically Blacky is probably closer to a senior citizen than a teenager but he’s acquired a habit lately that reminds me of when Jr. and Princess were teenagers.  He’s learned how to get the last word in an argument with his parents.  Yes, a dog has learned how to get the last word in an argument.  
 
A little background . . . Blacky is the good child.  Never a discipline problem.  Never a training problem.  Once he outgrew the chewing stage where he ate everything in sight when he was a puppy, he’s never willfully misbehaved.  Ever.  Graduated at the top of his obedience class. 
 
He also knows how to tell time.  I don’t know how he does it, but he knows (to the minute!) when it’s time for after supper cookies.  Hubby and I give the after supper cookies at approximately 7:30 p.m. every night.  By approximately, I mean we try to do it at about the same time every night and it’s generally around 7:30 p.m.  Blacky’s gotten used to that time and gets a little impatient if we haven’t finished dinner and given the cookies by 7:30.  Up until about a week ago, being impatient would mean that Blacky would stare at us while we finished our dinner and then go stand by the cabinet where the cookies were stored.  We would finish our dinner and then give him and Luci the cookies. 
 
But in the last week or so, impatient has taken on a whole new meaning.  Blacky has decided that we aren’t moving fast enough for his liking and he wants us to move a little faster.  He’s been laying in front of the cabinet where the cookies are kept and has been lightly clearing his throat to get our attention.  It’s not a whine and it’s not a bark.  It’s just loud enough to get our attention.  At first it was kind of funny and I admit that I did giggle over it.  But I always had my back to him so he didn’t see me laughing at him.  Don’t want to encourage the bad behavior.  Now it’s getting annoying and we had to banish him from the kitchen while I finished my supper tonight. 
 
I have to admit that it is funny to think of a dog getting the last word in an argument.  At least this time the last word doesn’t involve someone stomping up the stairs and slamming the door to their room.  I’ll take teenage dogs over teenage humans any day!
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Teenagers

  1. Jim

    Ha. My dog knows breakfast and Dinner times.  She does the same thing.  Just stares us down.  Maybe she is using some sort of mental telepathy that us humans don\’t have.  I also have a teenage daughter but I am lucky.  So far no issues.  Well, no issues with eather.  Dog or Daughter.  🙂

  2. Beth

    Oh God love Blacky.  This is a great post.  I can just imagine the scene in your kitchen.  Loved this post!

Leave a Reply

