#@%&!

 
It’s amazing the things you forget in 7 short years.  I forgot how exhausting it is to run two households.  I forgot how much organization it takes to make sure that everything gets done at both places.  Laundry.  Dishes.  Housework in general.  Grocery shopping.  Tending to the dogs.  I know that Hubby and I did a lot for MIL and FIL when FIL was sick, but I don’t remember being this tired all the time.  Could it be that we’re 7 years older this time around? 
 
MIL is doing well with the oxygen and the steroids.  She doesn’t seem as tired or as confused as she was before the hospital stay.  I did some research on the subject of pulmonary fibrosis and I understand things a lot better now.  I understand why she was so tired all the time. Why she was losing so much weight so fast.  Why she seemed a little more confused than normal.  I also understand this just the beginning.  It’s going to get worse . . . a lot worse.  But I’m not going to think about that today.  There’s plenty of time down the road to worry about that.  Can you tell that I’m a big fan of Scarlett O’Hara?
 
Hubby and I are adapting to the new routine even though right now we resemble sleep deprived parents of a newborn.  There are so many things that you never expected to have to deal with. You cross one item off your To Do List and two more get added.  At least I don’t feel like I’m chasing my own tail anymore.  
 
 
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “#@%&!

  1. Beth

    Kudos to you and hubby for taking care of M-I-L.  It is no fun being a caregiver.  I have been through that.  We just hope that when it is our turn there will be someone around to help us.

Leave a Reply

