Whatcha Doin?

 
No, I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth.  It’s just that I’ve been enjoying myself a lot these days.  Not something I did much of over the past year.  I never realized just how unhappy and stressed out I was at the Large Insurance Agency until I left that job and went to the Fabulous New Job.  For the last year or so, I had been having some trouble sleeping at night.  I thought it was one of those menopause things and even talked to Dr. D about it.  Imagine my surprise when I discovered that it wasn’t a menopause thing but a Terrible Work Situation thing. 
 
I love the new job.  I’ve been there almost a month and I can’t hardly believe it.  I actually feel like I fit in.  I come home for lunch every day and I leave promptly at 5 p.m. every night.  My desk is clean when I leave at night and I don’t worry about what didn’t get done and what’s going to bite me in the tush tomorrow.  I’m getting lots of positive feedback and there’s always somebody to help if I have a question or I need a second set of hands to get something finished.  The difference between the Fabulous New Job and the Large Insurance Agency is the difference between night and day.  I could go on forever, but I won’t.  I’ll just say that it was certainly a good move for me. 
 
Yes, I’m still sad about Little Sister’s job situation and I’ve been helping her with her resume and helping her fine tune the computer skills.  Her skills aren’t bad, but tactless former boss (TFB) did a real hatchet job on Little Sister’s self-confidence.  Little Sister’s got over 20 years experience in her field and TFB has made her feel like a newbie.  And I’m feeling a little guilty about taking the Fabulous New Job because it’s in the medical field and right up Little Sister’s alley.  I feel guilty that I’m so happy with my new job when Little Sister just lost hers.  What can I say, I’m a Catholic and the guilt department is something we excel in. 
 
I’m spending lots of time with Blacky and Luci.  When the weather isn’t too warm, I’ll take Luci for a walk.  I have tried taking Blacky for walks with us, but he’s more skittish and nervous these days and it’s best to leave him at home.  I talked to the vet about it last week when he went for his yearly check-up and she told me that anxious dogs get more anxious as they get older.  Since Blacky’s now 9 years old, that’s to be expected.  When we aren’t walking, we’re playing with the sprinklers and the baby pool in the back yard.  
 
By the way, Blacky got a clean bill of health at the vet.  His liver function all seems normal and there doesn’t seem to be any problems with the arthritis meds affecting him.  For an old guy, he’s in good shape.  Just the normal things you have to worry about with an older dog. 
 
Then there’s all my other hobbies that got pushed aside over the last year.  I hadn’t done any cross stitch in a really long time, I haven’t read a good book since I was in the hospital for my hysterectomy, and the knitting I started after my class finished is still waiting for me.  In the last month, I’ve worked on all of them.  It’s been wonderful.  
 
Even Hubby has commented on the fact that I’m smiling a lot more these days. 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Whatcha Doin?

  1. Debbie

    Hi Pam, It\’s good to hear how well you\’re doing and I\’m happy for you.  Blacky & Luci are probably so jazzed with your new schedule.  Take care. I hope that you keep up your posts as I enjoy them.  Have a great week.

  2. Beth

    Pam, I am so glad that you like your new job and I am sorry about your sister losing hers.  Hopefully everything will work out ok for her.  Great news about Blacky\’s health and a pat on the back for Luci too.
    I laid my knitting aside for the warm weather but I plan to start again in the fall.
    Take care!

  3. Susan

    Isn\’t it wonderful to be able to actually enjoy your job and at the same time enjoy yourself!  Catholic guilt…..I have been accused of having that.  But because I\’m a convert to the Faith, my guilt comes from my Mother, whose father was none practicing Catholic.  Maybe that\’s why it filtered down so well.
     
    Have a Wonderful Week!
    Hugs, Susan

  4. Shelly

    good news… good news… and more good news…. How wonderful for you.   You sound just like one of my family members "it\’s great but it\’s not because I\’m wishing she had this" …. tee hee…
    Keep on smiling!!
    ttfn
     

Leave a comment