And Now For Something Completely Different

 
Remember the interview I went on a couple of weeks ago?  I got the news today that I got the job.  In a little less than two weeks from now, I’ll be starting my new job.  This time the job is in the health care field.  So now my resume includes work in the mortgage banking industry, credit insurance, small leather goods manufacturing, machine tool sales, environmental law, and insurance.  Even though it looks a little odd written down, the one constant throughout the different jobs is that it is all administrative stuff.  Secretarial work is secretarial work no matter what industry you’re in.  I guess Mom was right . . . as long as you have a strong set of basic secretarial skills, you’ll never have to worry about finding a job.  But that’s a story for another day. 
 
The new job is for the executive assistant to the medical director of one of the divisions of the local hospital here.  I won’t go into a lot of details except to say that it does sound interesting and challenging, but after what I’ve faced at Large Insurance Firm this new job should be a piece of cake.  The best part is that it’s seven minutes from my house.  Excuse me while I do a happy dance.  Yes, that’s seven minutes . . . which is approximately the length of time it takes for me to walk from the parking garage to my desk.  My commute is 45 minutes each way.  That’s 1 hour and 30 minutes in the car each day.  After making the big commute for almost nine years, I can’t even begin to tell you how exciting it is to think about a 15 minute round trip commute time.  I can come home and let the dogs out at lunch.  I can make a doctor’s appointment and I won’t have to take a half-day off to get it done.  If the dogs get sick and need to go to the vet, I can do that. 
 
So I agreed to work at Large Insurance Firm through the move to the new building.  I’m either a devoted employee or a total idiot.  The move is June 27, 28, and 29.  The first day in the new space is June 30.  I start the new job July 1.  My current boss is very happy that I’m sticking around to help with the move.  She understands that I need to do what’s best for me and she understands why I would want to take a job so close to my house.  I have not had a chance to have a serious heart-to-heart talk with her about my current job, but I do intend to let her know how overwhelmed and miserable I was in this position.  I don’t know if my speaking up with make any changes in the current position, but at least I will know that I did what I could to make it a little easier for the next person.  No, she didn’t make a counter offer to make me stay.  I think she knew that it would be pointless to do that.  There’s no amount of money that can make me give up on my dream of working in My Little Town again.  I think she also knew that I am frustrated beyond belief with my current position.
 
I’m very excited about the new job.  The people are very friendly and it appears to be a great place to work.  Two ladies that work in the office where I will be were recruited away by promises of big money but came back because of the atmosphere at Small Regional Hospital.  That says a lot . . .
 
 
 
 
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “And Now For Something Completely Different

  1. Debbie

    Horray for you!  I love the good news!  Sounds like a good match for you.  They are lucky to have you!

  2. Dori

    Pam I am SO happy and excited for you. Congratulations on making a great impression  along with your resume\’.  You will love coming home for lunch – it just grounds you.  I know cause that\’s what I did for my 28 years as a A.A.  I think you are a really good person to stay for the move, but also just a little bit of an idiot !!  "-)  So glad you are doing an exit interview – hopefully your successor won\’t be piled on quite as much.

Leave a Reply

