Pomp & Circumstance

 
My Oldest Niece graduated from high school this weekend.  The ceremony was at 10 a.m. on Saturday and the party was this afternoon at 2 p.m.  According to Dollface (my name for Oldest Niece), the graduation party circuit will last for a couple of weeks. 
 
Dollface (and all my nieces and nephews) attended the same high school that I did.  The majority of the kids I went to high school with are still in the same area so there were some familiar names in the graduation class.  Kids I went to high school with had kids in the graduating class.  Man was that surreal. 
 
I know that an aunt isn’t supposed to show favoritism . . . . but I do.  Dollface is my favorite niece.  Maybe it’s because she’s the oldest niece.  Maybe it’s because she’s a middle child (like me!) and suffers greatly from Middle Child Syndrome.  Maybe because she’s just an adorable girl with a personality to match. 
 
Needless to say, it was a little traumatic watching her graduate and realize she’s an adult now.  I cried practically from the minute I stepped into the auditorium yesterday morning.  I got teary eyed when I saw her name in the program.  I got teary eyed when I saw the song the senior choir was going to sing.  You can imagine the waterworks when the graduates took their places . . . and again when they got their diplomas.  The really funny part is that Dollface had asked her mom (Big Sister) not to cry during the ceremony.  Big Sister did a good job of not crying, but there I was sitting right behind her with full waterworks.  Yes, Dollface saw me.  Instead of crying herself, she got a good chuckle out of it.  God love her, she understood that her aunt is a psycho hormonal mess and I have no control over the waterworks these days.  
 
But the graduation was nothing compared to the party.  One of Big Sister’s friends made a special video taking all sorts of pictures of Dollface and making a slideshow which appropriately sappy music.  I had to watch it in sections because it was too hard to watch all at once. 
 
I’m happy that Dollface had such a happy weekend . . . and I’m really happy that it’s three years before the next graduation. 
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Pomp & Circumstance

  1. Beth

    Congratulations to Dollface and conratulation to her proud aunt.  I sounds like they are having a great weekend.

  2. Susan

    Hey Pam….You just cry if you want too! There is something surreal about seeing your former classmates names in print, only because of their children.  You don\’t feel a day over (well maybe you do) that same age, yet here you are.  Almost like the Twilight Zone…
     
    Have a Beautiful Week!
     
    Hugs to you!
    Susan

  3. June

    Awwwww – how sweet!  I will be a complete pile of tears when Wally graduates next year.  I\’m already crying.  He hasn\’t even started his senior year yet.  Geez!!!!
    Take care, SNJ

  4. Debbie

    Hi Pam!  I felt the joy in your words, nice post.  Congrats to your niece and family!  Hugs, Deb

Leave a Reply

