Scenes From A Small Town Saturday

 
Hubby and I are working on getting the yard sale stuff organized.  We’ve cleaned out the closets, the basement, the den.  All the stuff that we’ve had packed away in boxes and haven’t used since we moved into this house 17 years ago is fair game.  Unless it’s something that we have a special personal attachment to.  Like his model cars or his stamp collection. Or my cow collection or my cross stitch stuff.  He’s twanging on my last nerve and I’m sure I’m twanging on his.  He keeps reminding me that I missed him when he went to Canada last week.  The yard sale isn’t until next week.  I remember now why I hate yard sales.  This time I promise not to forget. 
 
Prom season is in full swing here in My Little Town.  At Mass last night I saw an amazing sight.  Two wonderful young men attended Saturday Evening Mass in their tuxedos before they went to prom.  Considering that the dress code for this particular Mass is more casual, it was a real treat to see these young men in their beautiful black tuxedoes.  By the way, their ties and vests were a nice cream color.  Very classy.  
 
Every May, the weekend before Memorial Day, the Rotary Club in My Little Town sponsors a Mini Grand Prix race.  They block off downtown and they have races in these cool little race cars.  It seems like a lot of fun for the participants and the spectators.  It makes life a little difficult for everyone else in town when they block off all the streets in the downtown area.  Getting from Point A to Point B can be almost impossible.  Add to that an Impatient Hubby that is trying to drive through town to get to the Mega Office Supply Store to get supplies for The Yard Sale.  This is part of the reason that Hubby and I were snipping at each other yesterday. 
 
The weather here yesterday was sunny and warm with temps in the low 70’s.  We had the front and back door open and a few of the windows.  Blacky and Luci love looking out the windows and doors to watch the world go by.  At one point yesterday morning, I heard Blacky growling and barking at something out the front door.  Normally, it’s just somebody walking down the street or a stray dog wandering through the neighborhood.  But this was a growl that I hadn’t heard before.  I went to the front door to see what was causing the ruckus.  It was a groundhog.  In. Our. Front. Yard.  I live in the city – true a small city, but still I’m in the city limits – and there was a groundhog in my front yard.  Not to be outdone, though, Miss Luci discovered a possum in the back yard later in the afternoon.  Oh, dear. Perhaps My Little Town is smaller than I think it is. 
 
Remember the scarf I made in my knitting class?  Well, I finally finished it.  It took so long because I had some tension problems and some stitch count problems.  I finally got it done and it looked good.  I washed it yesterday.  That’s when I discovered that I had dropped a stitch somewhere and the thing had a big hole in the middle of it.  Curse and swear.  Curse and swear.  This silly scarf is going to be the death of me yet.  So I have to tear it apart and start all over.  
 
It’s been a rather interesting weekend . . .
 
 
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Scenes From A Small Town Saturday

  1. Debbie

    Sounds like a nice weekend.  Sounds like you\’re gonna have a good garage sale.  I hope you get the hang of the knitting!  You can do it!  🙂  Deb

  2. Beth

    Thank you for the laugh about your knitting.  I remember similar happenings many years ago when I first started knitting.
    Garage/yard sales are a tremendous amount of work.  I just had one a couple of weeks ago.  Good luck with yours and a big hug for Blacky and Luci!

Leave a Reply

