Evening Stroll

 
I can’t believe I’m going to give an update on Luci’s weight loss program . . . but here it is.  
 
I’ve cut back on her food portions.  I was giving her entirely too much at each feeding so cutting her back actually means that she’s closer to normal food intake.  I’ve also cut back on her doggie treats and no table scraps.  I think it’s harder on me and Hubby than it is on the doggies.  
 
I take Luci and Blacky out for a walk every night.  Blacky joins us for a short walk and then Luci and I continue on our regular walk route.  It’s about a mile and half total.  Blacky enjoys getting out for some exercise and it’s actually helping his arthritis.  I’m hoping that getting him out will help with his socialization and getting him to be less skittish.  Let’s just say that I have a lot of work ahead of me with him.  Luci, however, is my little social butterfly.  Doesn’t know a stranger.  Knows no fear.  Thinks that everyone is there just to see her.  Of course she’s such an adorable girl that everyone does want to see her . . . problem is that she’s a little too rambunctious for some of her smaller fans.  Bless her heart.  It takes all her composure to get her to sit still and wait for the little ones to walk up to her.  
 
The evening walk is the best part of my day.  No matter how bad a day at work or how bad the drive home from work . . . it’s always a joy to see those adorable faces waiting for me at the front door.  (Hubby gets home before me and Luci and Blacky are normally waiting for me at the front door.)  We do the walk before I start supper.  Gives me a chance to unwind and relax before I have to do the domestic goddess stuff.  Now that the weather is warmer we get to see the new spring flowers, more people are out and about, and it’s just more fun to be outside.  It was a chore to do the walk in the winter.  It’s fun now . . . . and I think it’s more fun for the doggies too.  Mommy’s not in such a hurry to get the walk over with.  
 
Maybe some day soon we can talk Hubby in to going with us . . .
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Evening Stroll

  1. Beth

    Hooray for Luci.
    And…the walks sound like fun.

  2. Nadine

    Yep one doggie treat is like a snicker bar!! And table scraps…..that is off the charts!! Good luck!!

  3. Jim

    Spending time with your dog sure does release stress.  I always find it to be true for me.

Leave a Reply

