Happy Birthday Y&R

 
Hello, my name is Pam.  And I’m a Young and the Restless addict.  I’ve been watching this soap opera since the very beginning.  My soap watching started innocently enough – my Mom has been watching the CBS soaps for as long as I can remember* and they were just a part of our life growing up.  From 12:30 until 4:00 p.m. everyday we watched soaps.  But for some reason, Y&R got me hooked and it’s something that I just can’t seem to stay away from.  When I was in school, I loved snow days, school holidays, and summer vacation.  That meant that we could lounge in front of the TV and catch up on the stories.  When I was in college, I made sure that I scheduled classes so that I could either be home or at the student union to watch the soap.  One of the things that I loved most about working the night shift was that I could see my soap every day.  Okay, that was the only good part about working the night shift!  Over the years, I’ve managed to keep up with the soap by watching when I could, reading the updates on the web, talking to my sisters and my mom about the recent developments.  No, I’ve never taped an episode of the soap.  I made a promise to Hubby when we bought the first VCR that I wouldn’t tape my soap and he wouldn’t tape any sports programs.  He kept his part of the deal so I’ve kept mine. 
 
Recently I’ve discovered the channel SoapNet as part of my DirecTV package. . . . and today’s episode of Y&R plays on SoapNet every night at 7 p.m.  There’s even a marathon of the weeks episodes on Saturday night from 7 until Midnight.  Oh, I am one happy girl!  Hubby knows that from 7 to 8 p.m. every night, I’m going to be watching my soap . . . and there’s been plenty of Saturday nights that I’m in the kitchen watching my soap.  That way I’m not forcing him to watch the soap with me.  Although he does watch from time to time.  Knows the characters and the basic story line.  Don’t tell anybody, though.  He’s got an image to uphold, ya know. 
 
So the other day, I’m watching my soap and there are all these "Happy Birthday, Y&R" commercials and I’m totally confused.  What birthday?  Is it a big milestone?  Hmmm . . . I go to the website and I get the shock of my life.  Oh. My. Heavens.  Y&R’s first episode aired on March 26, 1973.  Thirty five years ago?  I’ve been watching this soap for THIRTY FIVE YEARS?!  Pardon me.  I’m having a case of the vapors.  I was 10 years old when the soap started.  I remember the Brooks family.  I remember the Foster family.  I remember when Nikki Newman was a stripper.  I remember when Brad Carlton was the pool boy.  I remember David Hassellhoff playing Snapper Foster.  I remember when Mrs. Chancellor had her face lift.  Oh, dear.  Oh, dear.  I’m feeling very very old.  
 
How is it possible that I’m old enough to have watched a 35 year old soap opera from the very beginning?  I certainly don’t feel that old!  It was pretty cool to check out some of the early episodes.  Everyone was so young!!  Oh, and Victor Newman was (is) soooo handsome!!  But when did Paul Williams get so old looking?  And his little girl is now old enough to be the Assistant District Attorney? 
 
All I can say is Happy 35th Birthday Y&R.  Thanks for being a part of my life for all these years.  I hope you’re around for at least another 35 more!!
 
 
*My mom tells me that she was feeding me lunch while watching "As The World Turns" when she heard the news that President Kennedy had been killed.  I was four months old at the time.  I guess the soap habit started very early for me. 
 
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Happy Birthday Y&R

  1. Beth

    Of course you know I am a huge Y&R fan too.  Let me tell you the story of how I started watching it.  In 1997 my sister was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer.  As you know it always kills.  She was a big Y&R fan and when I would visit with her I would sit and watch it with her.  After her death In Dec 97 I started watching it full time in her honor and I am hooked.  You can count on 2 fingers the episodes I have missed in 11 years!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY Y&R!!

  2. Ann

    Very funny!  I have never been a big soap fan, but my little sis was into Days of our Lives, and my hubby and I watched it with her some….. what\’s weird is, that was like 20 years ago, and the other day I happened across it…it\’s the same people playing the same characters with the exact same scenarious!!!  Geez – you\’d think they could have come up with something new, lol!!

  3. Nadine

    I remember when Mrs Chancellor\’s house burnt….that\’s when I started watching it!! I stopped when Victor started an affair after saving Nikki from the bad guy off the ship….LOVE IS FOREVER!!! But victor cheated and it upset me greatly. I quit watching.

  4. 小西

    小跑过来看看~~~~

  5. Sherry

    I used to be a Y&R fan, years ago(when Nikki was a tramp, LOL) Haven\’t watche in years either. It was too hard to keep up when I went to work full time.  Although I have it set to tape, Friday, as my favorite singer will be in the House, Trace Adkins! 

Leave a Reply

