Spreading Myself a Little Thin

 
 
I love my new job.  I’ve been there a little over 4 months and it’s been a total whirlwind the entire time.  In the last couple of weeks, I’ve had 5 (FIVE!!) events to plan and execute.  Two events last week . . . three events this week.  One event has something happening every day.  I confess that I was very content with the routine at the old job.  It was safe.  It was predictible.  There is nothing (nothing!) routine about this new job.  Every time I think I’ve got a routine down, everything changes.  
 
Add to that working on Hubby’s new business (Don’s Fishing Rod Repair), taking care of the doggies, doing the Domestic Goddess stuff (groceries, laundry, cleaning the house) and keeping an eye on my MIL and I’m one busy little lady.  Yes, life is quietly going back to boringly normal – and I’m very happy about that – but it’s also incredibly hectic.   I have been able to take Luci for a walk every night and play fetch with her and Blacky at least twice a day . . . but that’s about it.  Not much cross stitching going on these days.  Not much reading for fun.  Some TV watching but not nearly as much as I’d like.  But most of all, not much blog time.  Not much time to read all the blogs that I love . . . not much time to write my own blog.  
 
But I think that’s going to change.  I read Catholic Mom’s website last week about keeping Sunday as a day of rest and thought that was a cool idea.  So I tried it for myself last weekend.  It was wonderful.  Wonderful.  I slept in as late as the doggies would let me.  Okay, it was Luci that finally got me up at 8 a.m. for her morning potty trip and breakfast.  I read the paper.  Lounged around the house and did a lot of nothing in particular.  I did do some laundry but that was all the housework that I did.  Watched a movie with Hubby and fixed dinner.  It was a lovely, relaxing day.  After the pace that I’ve been running the last few months, it was a wonderful way to spend a Sunday.  And I made a vow that I’m going to try my best to continue the practice.  Maybe I’ll be able to catch up on my reading and my cross-stitching . . . that is if Luci will let me.  She seems to think that Mommy’s Day of Rest includes an evening walk.  To be honest, though, that walk is the highlight of my day . . .
 
Oh and I hope to be able to spend more time blogging . . .
 
 
 
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Spreading Myself a Little Thin

  1. Beth

    Take care of yourself.  I think keeping Sunday for yourself, hubby and the dogs is a very good idea.    Lots of good luck wished for hubby in his business venture.

  2. Nadine

    Yes you will get the hang of and be back to blogging on a regular basis. I am glad you like the new job!
    Hugs!

  3. Brenda

    Awesome!  Isn\’t it nice to have that extra day to regroup again?  And having that great new job to return to all relaxed on Monday is a true blessing.  Thank you for humoring me and giving the \’Day of Rest\’ a try–we can do this!
     
    Have a wonderful week. 🙂
     

Leave a Reply

