You Say It’s Your Birthday

 
Today’s is the start of a new phase of my life as a dog owner.  The terrible two’s with a black lab . . . it’s Luci’s second birthday. 
 
Everybody said that she’d start to settle down once she hit her second birthday.  Or was it her third birthday?  Either way, I don’t think she’s ever going to slow down.  She’s still as rambunctious and active as she was when she was an 8 week old puppy.  When the alarm goes off in the morning, she’s right there at the side of the bed with a toy ready to play.  She’ll play fetch until she is too tired to run.  She’s been pulling apples off the tree in the back yard this summer.  She doesn’t eat them, she’ll just play with them for a while.  When she’s done with them, she’ll give them to Blacky so he can eat them.  Every night after supper, she has to go for her walk.  It’s important that she visit her adoring fans (and she has quite a few).  If they aren’t outside waiting for her, she’ll look at me like I need to go find them so they can love on her.  She loves to play in the pool, but isn’t all that fond of getting a bath.  I think it has something to do with the standing still part.  She hasn’t dug any large holes in the back yard in a while.  Course now that I’ve mentioned it, she’ll probably be digging a hole to China tomorrow morning. 
 
She’s a full blooded AKC registered dog.  With the big fancy schmancy name to go along with it.  Took me forever to come up with something that suited her.  Her registered name is "Because You Loved Me."  Partly in tribute to Hubby . . . partly in tribute to Goldie.  Tribute to Hubby because he was desperate to do something/anything to help me get over losing Goldie so suddenly.  Tribute to Goldie because it wasn’t fair to her memory to mope through life like I was.  Her "call name" is Luci Rae . . . short for Lucifer Raphael.  She’s both a little devil and a little angel at the same time.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve told her that if she wasn’t so darn cute, she’d be in big trouble.  
 
There are days when I’m sure that Luci is Goldie reincarnated.  I still can’t figure out of some of the things they have in common are just normal lab traits or if it’s Goldie’s personality in Luci’s body.  Goldie chewed her toenails and Luci chews her toenails.  Luci will eat just about anything that she finds in the yard – just like Goldie.  Goldie would wait for me at the front door every night and so will Luci.  Goldie loved snow and so does Luci.  Goldie didn’t like to sit still long enough for me to brush her out and neither will Luci.  In the last couple of weeks, Luci has started to follow me around the house like Goldie used to.  It’s spooky . . . but comforting at the same time. 
 
Of course, we celebrated the big day with a party and a few presents.  Luci got a couple of rubber chew toys shaped like little people, a chew ring that’s made out of tennis ball stuff, and another one of her favorite "squishy" balls.  Oh, and some special treats for her and Blacky to share.  Because you can’t give something to one of them without having something for the other. 
 
I survived puppyhood . . . . and it went by way too fast . . .
 
 
 
2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “You Say It’s Your Birthday

  1. Vonda

    Not sure if you remember me…I used to blog ages ago. Just getting back into it and stopping by friends spaces that were in my friends space. First, I wanted to wish Luci "Happy Birthday!!!" What a joyous day…when a baby finally becomes a teendoggie!!! I have two best friends also…I have a fox terrier nmaed "Ozzy" and a min pin nmaed "Spinner". They are the most loyal being I know. And I have spoiled them terribly!!! But the love of a doggie is such a cherished feeling. Well, take care of yourself and your friends. I\’ll be in touch later. Back to work for me. 

  2. Beth

    A happy belated birthday to Luci.  I am so glad that she is filling the void left in your heart because of the loss of Goldie.
    I wanted to tell you a few things I like about you.  Pam, you are a warm, generous, loving person.  Your pets and your husband\’s welfare are your number one priorities as they should be.  I smilingly put your pets before your husband to give you a laugh.  Last, but not least, I like the fact that you appreciate one of my very favorites, George Jones.  Thanks for being my friend.
    Mission : Possibilities
    I chose you as one of my friends that I wanted to visit and tell you why I like you.  I hope now that you will accept this mission too.  
    1.  choose at least 2 people to accept as your mission, the more, the better, the funner, the happier!!
    2.  go to their spaces and comment them PUBLICLY  and tell them at least 2 things that you have learned or know about them that you really like –
    3.  at the bottom of all these fuzzy warm feelings you share, ask them to accept the mission by pasting the script below so the mission can continue to go on.
    4.  Please go to the blog of the person who shared with YOU and share something you like about them too!  

Leave a Reply

