Random Thought from the Road to Recovery

 
Okay, I’ve been very bad about keeping the blog updated while I’ve been home.  I will admit that I’m enjoying being a couch potato and I’m going to be very sad when it ends and I have to go back to work.  It’s been almost three weeks since the surgery and I’m really surprised at how great I feel.  The two week follow-up appointment went well last week.  Doc said I could drive and I promptly went to Wal-Mart right after my appointment.  Probably not the smartest thing I’ve ever done because I wasn’t there for more than 30 minutes when I got tired and had to go home.  I was so wore out when I got home that I had to take a 2 hour nap.  I’m supposed to go back to work on May 15.  That means I only have one week left to get myself to a point where I won’t need an afternoon nap every day. 
 
That’s a shame because I really like my afternoon naps.  It’s become a part of my routine.  If you can have a routine when you’re home on sick leave, that is.  I eat lunch and watch “The Young and The Restless” and then I take my nap.  Luckily, Blacky and Luci have learned that Mommy needs her nap every afternoon and they nap with me.  We shut the front door, pick something interesting on TV for background noise and snooze away! 
 
Another part of my daily routine is drinking 2 liters of water every day.  EVERY DAY.  Oh. My. Goodness.  That’s a lot of water because before the surgery I was lucky if I drank a half liter of water every day.  I’m not used to drinking so much water and I’m spending most of my day going to the bathroom.  The good part of drinking all this water is that I’ve lost 7 lbs. since the surgery and I think the water has something to do with it.  Either because I’m walking to the bathroom all the time or that my stomach is always full of water so I don’t get hungry.  Doesn’t matter because I’m not complaining! 
 
This is my last week at home.  I have another follow-up appointment next Monday and I’m going back to work on the 15th.  I’m grateful that I’m feeling good enough that I can enjoy this last week at home.
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Random Thought from the Road to Recovery

  1. Brenda

    Your recovery sounds like a dream come true.  Have a great last week and enjoy!
     

Leave a Reply

