Say What?

 
Last week I had to go for my annual "girlie" checkup.  I’m sure you all know the routine . . . get the "how ya doin’?" talk, doc checks out the girlie areas, writes a prescription for the birth control pills, writes an order for a mamogram (if you’re over 40), and sends you on your merry way.  That’s what I expected to happen last week. 
 
What actually happened was that the doc found "a sizeable" mass during the girlie check.  Sizeable enough that he ordered an ultrasound.  Sizeable mass appears to be some fibroids and an ovarian cyst.  They’re big enough that doc wants them to come out.  To be honest, I want them to come out too.  So, I’m having a hysterectomy next week.  
 
Yea, it came out of left field and I’m kind of freaked out.  Doc seems to think that the high powered birth control pills that I’ve been on for the last 4 years were a contributing factor.  He’s also pretty confident that they’re benign growths.  This week has been a bit of a blur for me. 
 
I’ve been training the boss’ wife to take over for my job when I start the new job with my friend in June . . . but we had to step up the learning process so that she’s able to handle things when I take off for my medical leave at the end of the week.  So far things have been going really well and I’m confident that she’ll be able to handle things just fine. 
 
As for the sick time, I’m luck to have 5 days of sick time and 3 weeks of vacation . . . and here I was wondering what I was going to do with all that vacation time.  Hubby only has one week of vacation and I was planning to do a bunch of day trips during the summer.  Between the sick days and the vacation days, I’ll should be covered for the amount of time I’ll need to be off to recover. 
 
This week has been a bit of a blur.  Figuring out what I need to get done before surgery – stuff at home, stuff at work.  Telling the family and friends about this latest development in my life.  
 
Hubby has been wonderful.  His reaction was "okay, what do we need to do to fix this?" And "what can I do to help?"  I asked him if he’d have the surgery for me.  Would you believe that he actually said yes?  Now that’s love . . . . 
 
 
 
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Say What?

  1. Shelly

    WOW!!!!!  I know we all dislike those appointments.  Although they are necessary for our health and blah… I\’m glad they found em and are willing to get em out.   O.k. but what\’s up with the BC??   How come you are 40 and still on BC?  My dr. told me that I could only be on them for six more months and I"m 36 at the end of the month.  HUBBY is freaking out!   I hope that your procedure goes well.  Don\’t worry about work, they\’ll figure it out!   Plus it\’s always nice when they know that they can\’t live without you!  I\’ll be sening happy thoughts and lots of prayers your way!!  Take care and I hope it all works out fine for you!
    ttfn
     

  2. Linda

    What a sweet husband you have.  I had my hysterectomy 18 months ago.  My recovery was really pretty fast. I hope yours will go as smoothly.  Cheers.

  3. c

    I had my hysterectomy 8 days ago. The body heals pretty good, but the emotions are going all over the place.
    How are you doing now?
    CC

Leave a Reply

