Watch What You Wish For . . .

 
You might end up with it.  That’s something my mom said to us a lot when we were growing up.  I didn’t really understand what it meant when I was a kid, but I understand it now.  I wished for snow and cold weather . . . and I got it.  I really should have watched what I wished for this time. 
 
I was sick of the warm weather and the muddy swampy mess in my back yard and I wished that winter would get here already.  Well, it’s here.  Arrived late Saturday afternoon.  Brought cold temperatures and snow.  It was 28 degrees when I got up at 5:30 this morning.  It’s 18 degrees here now and, with the wind chill, it feels like it’s 2 degrees.  It’s supposed to get colder tonight with wind chills below zero.  We’ve had flurries and snow showers every day.  Yes, I’m happy that the mud in the yard is frozen.  Yes, I’m happy that Luci and Blacky can go outside and play to their hearts content – or until Hubby or I think they’ve been outside too long and they need to come in to get warm – without getting covered in mud.  Yes, I’m very happy that the snow hasn’t been significant enough to cause problems on the road for my drive to and from work every day.  I really shouldn’t be surprised.  It seems like the last week in January is always the coldest of the winter season. 
 
I just didn’t know that my wish for winter weather was going to include me getting a cold.  I think I picked up the germ on Saturday when I was outside playing fetch with the doggies.  It was 40 degrees Saturday afternoon.  The sun was shining and the dogs wanted Mommy to go out and play with them.  You know me, I can’t resist those pretty brown eyes.  Silly me went outside to play fetch with the doggies and didn’t wear a coat.  In my defense, though, I wasn’t out for very long and I had on my heavy boots, long johns and jeans, and a sweatshirt/turtleneck combo.  We had a good time romping and running in the back yard.  How was I to know that I was going to pick up some horrible germ that’s making me miserable now?     
 
Since I got exactly what I wished for, I won’t complain.  Just remind me of this the next time I make a wish.  Excuse me . . . I need a tissue. . . and some hot chocolate. 
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Watch What You Wish For . . .

  1. Stepmonster... some call me wicked

    Wow… I\’m glad I have someone to blame for the crappy cold weather….I think I need to go into hibernation and wake up in the Spring.

Leave a Reply

